Rehearsals in Sweden with 2016 Eurovision Song Contest co-presenter Petra Mede
8, 10 & 12 May 2018
Tune in live at 21:00 CEST
Official Lighting Partner

Nordic parade kicks off today

Victor M. Escudero
Victor M. Escudero
Posted 6 Febuary, 2016, 9:00

It's time for three nordic participants of the Eurovision Song Contest to start their national selections of 2016. Tonight the broadcasters of Sweden, Finland and Iceland will hold the first semi-finals of Melodifestivalen, UMK and Söngvakeppnin. More info on the participants for each show and how to watch them in the slide below:

Sweden's Melodifestivalen

Semi-final 1, Gothenburg

Hosted by Gina Dirawi & Petra Mede. Participants in order of appearance:
  1. Samir & Viktor - Bada nakna
  2. Pernilla Andersson - Mitt guld
  3. Mimi Werner - Ain’t No Good
  4. Albin & Mattias Andréasson - Rik
  5. Robin Bengtsson - Constellation Price
  6. Ace Wilder - Don’t Worry
Earlier this week, after excerpts of the participating songs were made public, one of the participating songs was disqualified because of a breach of the rule that state that songs cannot have been published before September 2015. The following song had already been entered, in English, for the Moldovan Eurovision selection in 2014 and published online by the broadcaster TRM: 
  • Anna Book - Himmel för två written by Sven-Inge Sjöberg, Lennart Wastesson, Larry Forsberg and Camilla Läckberg.
Even though it will not compete, Anna will perform her song in the show.
The top two songs in the semi-final, chosen by televoting and app voting, will qualify for the final on the 12th of March. The third and fourth placed songs will go to the second chance round Andra Chansen.
Victor M. Escudero
Victor M. Escudero
FinlandIcelandSwedensemi-finalnational selectionMelodifestivalen2016newsSöngvakeppninUMK
Share this story


About this image
Rehearsals in Sweden with 2016 Eurovision Song Contest co-presenter Petra Mede © Stina Stjernkvist (SVT)
Official Lighting Partner
Official Partner
The Native
Official Partner
Turismo de Portugal
Eurovision, operated by EBU
© European Broadcasting Union 2002-2018.All rights reserved. Website by Scrn.