Skip to main content

Nodi Tatishvili & Sophie Gelovani to represent Georgia in Malmö

31 December 2012 at 19:19 CET

This year Georgia has chosen an internal selection to decide who will represent them at the forthcoming Eurovision Song Contest to be held in Malmö in May. 

This choice fell upon Nodi Tatishvili and Sophie Gelovani, two talented and experienced singers who hope to bring the competition home to Georgia. Further details about their song have not been released at this stage. 

Two talented artists

Nodi Tatishvili was born on in 1986. He graduated from the Tbilisi Musical School and Georgia’s Technical University. He has also studied in London. 

Nodi Tatishvili took part in many international musical contests, achieving much success. He is also the winner of Georgian television's musical project Geostar in 2009.

In 2011, his debut album was released under the title I am Georgian. His first solo concert was held at the Tbilisi Philharmonic Hall in 2011. He was the member of the Choir at the Sameba (Holy Trinity) Cathedral in 2008-2009. 

This content is unfortunately no longer available

Sophie Gelovani was born on March 21, 1984. She studied at the Musical School, Piano department in 1990-1997. She graduated from the Ilia Chavchavadze State University, Faculty of International Relations (2001-2005). In 2003-2007 she studied at the Musical School named after Zakaria Paliashvili.

Sophie Gelovani is the winner of the TV musical project Morning Star in 1999. She achieved first place at the international musical contest Do-Re-Mi in Yerevan, Armenia in 2000. She has also had other successes throughout the region in her career, making her a perfect candidate for the Eurovision Song Contest. 

Georgia will take part in one of the two Semi-Finals being held at the Malmö Arena in Malmö, Sweden on the 14th and 16th of May 2013. If Georgia qualify, they will perform in the Grand Final, which takes place on the 18th of May. 

Stay tuned to for further information about the Georgian selection!

Also, HAPPY NEW YEAR from all of us!