Skip to main content

Nina Kraljić wins the Barbara Dex Award 2016

22 May 2016 at 15:33 CEST
Nina Kraljić from Croatia EBU / Andres Putting
The 2016 Barbara Dex Award has been won by Nina Kraljić from Croatia. The two extravagant outfits gave the Croatian a landslide victory with 770 votes from the 2221 valid votes received.

The Barbara Dex Award has been annually awarded by the fan website House of Eurovision since 1997, and is a humorous and affectionate award given to the "worst dressed" artist each year in the contest. It is named after the Belgian singer, Barbara Dex, who came last in the 1993 contest, in which she wore her own self-designed dress.


Nina Kraljić finished ahead of Jamie Lee from Germany in second place with 335 votes and Rykka from Switzerland finished in third place with 201 votes. Bulgaria and Bosnia & Herzegovina completed the top five.

Further details can be found on the House of Eurovision website. 

This year, in its 20th anniversary, marks the final time that the award will be made by the House of Eurovision. From next year the website takes over the running of the award.


Who do you think should have won the Barbara Dex award?