Skip to main content

Finalists revealed in Denmark!

22 January 2018 at 11:59 CET
Annette Heick and Johannes Nymark hosted 'Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2018' DR
The finalists participating in the 2018 edition of 'Dansk Melodi Grand Prix', the Danish national selection for Eurovision, have been revealed.

The Danish national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest featured format changes for 2018. Songs that were submitted after the deadline were still considered for 2018 and if not then then for 2019. The decision was made after discussions with songwriters in the country. It means that there is less pressure to write and submit an entry in two months since songs can be submitted all year round. 

The finalists 

  • Ditte Marie – Riot
  • Anna Ritsmar – Starlight
  • Rasmussen – Higher Ground
  • Sannie – Boys on Girls
  • Sandra – Angels To My Battlefield
  • Lasse Meling – Unfound
  • Carlsen – Standing Up For Love
  • KARUI – Signals
  • Rikke Ganer-Tolsøe – Holder Fast i Ingenting
  • Albin Fredy – Music For The Road

Sannie, better known internationally as Whigfield, had a huge hit in 1994 with the song Saturday Night. Read more about the finalists in the running to represent Denmark in 2018 here.

Danish broadcaster DR has hired Mads Enggaard, who was the viewing room producer in Kyiv, to produce the prospective entries. Mads has a wealth of experience of working with music shows, having worked on the Eurovision Song Contest for the past four years as well as on other shows such as The X Factor.

Last year Anja represented Denmark with the song Where I Am, which qualified for the Grand Final in Kyiv. 

Denmark has won the Eurovision Song Contest three times in total, most recently in 2013 with Only Teardrops performed by Emmelie de Forest.