Skip to main content

Museum Monday Week Ten: Bobbysocks!

01 August 2016 at 21:00 CEST
Norway first entered the Eurovision Song Contest in 1960 but it would take them 25 years to score their first victory. The path to glory was far from smooth; up to that point Norway had only finished in the top five on two occasions and finished last six times. That all changed in 1985 when Norway won the Eurovision Song Contest with the song La Det Swinge. In part ten of our Museum Monday series we pay tribute to Norway's first ever winners, Bobbysocks!

Bobbysocks, formed in 1984, consists of Hanne Krogh and Elisabeth Andreassen. The duo won the right to represent Norway in the 1985 Eurovision Song Contest after they won the national selection, Melodi Grand Prix. Both singers had previous experience of performing in the Eurovision Song Contest with Hanne representing Norway in 1971 and Elisabeth representing Sweden as part of the group Chips in 1982. Bobbysocks' victory in 1985 was a breakthrough for Norway in the song contest, the significance of which was not lost on the host Lil Lindfors who remarked "I'm honestly very happy that this happened, because Norway has been last so many times that you really deserve it!"

The song, La Det Swinge, was written by Rolf Løvland who also wrote Norway's winning entry in 1995, Nocturne although arguably his biggest hit is You Raise Me Up which has been covered by artists from around the world. Hanne Krogh returned to the Eurovision Song Contest in 1991 representing Norway again as part of the group Just 4 Fun. Elisabeth Andreassen returned to the contest in 1994 duetting with the singer Jan Werner Danielsen. She also represented Norway on home ground in 1996 finishing second behind Ireland. In 1998 Elisabeth entered Melodi Grand Prix finishing second with Winds of the Northern Seas. More recently the duo performed together at Eurovision's Greatest Hits, a celebration of the 60th anniversary of the Eurovision Song Contest.