Skip to main content

Mentors revealed for Ireland

07 November 2012 at 02:57 CET

For 2013 five new mentors have been appointed representing different backgrounds in the entertainment industry in Ireland.

In the coming weeks they will source songs and singers who, in their view, will compete to best represent the country.

The line up of mentors are:

Mairéad Farrell - Radio and television presenter.

Shay Healy - Songwriter and performer, who composed What's Another Year? the winning song for Ireland in the 1980 contest.

Mark McCabe - Radio DJ and producer.

Niall Mooney - Songwriter who was part of the team behind the Irish entries in 2009 and 2010.

Stuart O'Connor - Producer

Details on the five acts and songs will be announced in the New Year. The winner will once again be decided by a combination of public vote and regional jury.

RTÉ Eurovision Co-ordinator Michael Kealy said "The five mentors this year represent a wide range of experience and talent from the world of music and show business and I believe the songs and acts they choose will deliver a very exciting and competitive Eurosng final in February".