Skip to main content

Melodifestivalen moves to Gothenburg

09 February 2013 at 01:17 CET

The second semi-final of Melodifestivalen 2013, the Swedish national selection, takes place tonight in Gothenburg's Scandinavium, venue of the 1985 Eurovision Song Contest. The line-up will be as follows (composers & authors in brackets):

  1. Anton EwaldBegging (Fredrik Kempe & Anton Malmberg Hård af Segerstad)
  2. Felicia OlssonMake Me No 1 (Amir Aly, Henrik Wikström, Ingela Pling Forsman & Maria Haukaas Mittet)
  3. Joacim CansAnnelie (Joacim Cans)
  4. Swedish House WivesOn Top of the World (Peter Boström & Thomas G:son)
  5. Erik Segerstedt & Tone DamliHello Goodbye (Robin Fredriksson, Mattias Larsson, Måns Zelmerlöw)
  6. Louise HoffstenOnly The Dead Fish Follow The Stream (Louise Hoffsten, Sandra Bjurman, Stefan Örn)
  7. Rikard WolffEn Förlorad Sommar (Tomas Andersson Wij)
  8. Sean BananCopacabanana (Sean Banan, Ola Lindholm, Hans Blomberg & Joakim Larsson)

Anton Ewald makes his debut as the main performer, as he's taken part before as a backing act. One of the composers of his song, Fredrik Kempe, has won Melodifestivalen three times before, the other, Anton Malmberg, participated with Le Kid in 2011. Among Felicia's composers there is Maria Haukaas, who sang for Norway in 2008.

Joacim Cans is the lead vocalist of the metal band Hammerfall. Swedish House Wives are Pernilla Wahlgren, Hanna Hedlund and Jenny Silver, all former participants in Swedish selections. The composers of their song are the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest winners with Euphoria. The co-composers of song 6, Sandra Bjurman and Stefan Örn are the 2011 Eurovision Song Contest winners with Running Scared.

Erik Segerstedt is the E in EMD, the group of presenter Danny Saucedo, which came 3rd in Melodifestivalen 2009 and his partner Tone Damli, from Norway, came 2nd in the Norwegial final in 2009. One of the authors of their song, Måns Zelmerlöw has also hosted and participated in MF. Sean Banan took part in this competition last year.

This content is unfortunately no longer available

You can follow the semi-final live at 20:00 CET with the SVT webcast.

Two of the acts tonight will join David Lindgren and YOHIO in the Final at the Friend's Arena in Stockholm on the 9th of March, while two others will join the second chance round (Andra Chansen) along with Cookies 'N' Beans and Eric Gadd in Karlstad on the 2nd of March.