Skip to main content

Melodifestivalen: final line-up almost complete

27 February 2010 at 22:20 CET

The fourth semi-final tonight featured several artists who already had participated in Melodifestivalen: Pernilla Wahlgren took part in 1985, 1991 and 2003 with the latter giving her the runner-up position. Peter Jöback participated in 1990 and has since then become one of the most popular Swedish singers. Py Bäckman wrote the 1988 Swedish entry for Tommy Körberg while participating herself in 1979 and 1992. Last, but not least, we could find Sibel who managed to reach the final of the 2008 Melodifestivalen.

The list of participants tonight looked like this (qualifiers in bold):

  • Sibel - Stop
  • Py Bäckman - Magisk Stjärna
  • NEO - Human Frontier
  • Lovestoned - Thursdays
  • Anna Bergendahl - This Is My Life
  • Pernilla Wahlgren - Jag Vill Om Du Vågar 
  • Noll Disciplin - Idiot
  • Peter Jöback - Hollow

NEO and Pernilla Wahlgren will have another chance to qualify in the so-called Second Chance round which will take place next Saturday in Örebro and which will decide about two more spots for the final.

Sweden managed to reach the final of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest with Malena Ernman's La Voix which was ultimately placed 21st.'s Gustav Dahlander had a chat with the female host of Melodifestivalen this year, Christine Meltzer. Listen to what she's got to say about hosting the event!