Skip to main content

'11:11' won - Megara will represent San Marino in Malmö

25 February 2024 at 01:27 CET
The 2024 edition of 'Una Voce Per San Marino' has its champ - Megara will fly the Sammarinese flag in May with the song '11:11'.

On the evening of Saturday 24 February, we took a trip to the Teatro Nuovo in Dogana, as San Marino got down to the exciting business of selecting its song for Malmö.

The third edition of Una Voce Per San Marino took place, and we got to discover which artist would follow in the footsteps of Achille Lauro and Piqued Jacks and have the honour of flying the Sammarinese flag at the 68th Eurovision Song Contest in May.

At the end of the night, the hosts Fabrizio Biggio and Melissa Greta Marchetto revealed that the winner of Una Voce Per San Marino was Megara with the song 11:11.

It was a jury that got to select the winner of Una Voce Per San Marino, out of a starting lineup of 17 songs. In the end, one entry came out on top - and the Most Serene Republic of San Marino now has its latest entry to Eurovision Song Contest.

Megara are a Spanish group currently based in Madrid. The quartet is made up of Kenzy (vocals), Rober (guitar), Vitti (bass) and Ra Tache (drums). The band are known for mixing rock and metal sounds with elements of dance and electronica.

They released their very first EP Muérase Qué Puede in 2015, and one year later they put out their debut album Siete. Since then, three more albums have followed, with Truco o Trato being the most recent one in late 2022.

In 2023, the band competed in Spain's Benidorm Fest with the song Arcadia. The high-velocity hit progressed to the final, where it finished 4th for the band.

San Marino at the Eurovision Song Contest

The 2008 Contest in Belgrade would stage San Marino’s debut entry; alt-rock group Miodio, composed of Sammarinese and Italian band members. Their song, Complice, may have finished last in its Semi-Final but it laid the foundations of a fan-favourite run at the Eurovision Song Contest, which continues today.

Since their debut, the 'Most Serene Republic' has qualified for the Grand Final on three occasions: Valentina Monetta (in 2014 with the Ralph Siegel produced track Maybe), Serhat (in 2019 with Say Na Na Na) and Senhit (in 2021 with the track Adrenalina).