Maria and Alexander through in Melodi Grand Prix

The second of four semi-finals in Norway's Melodi Grand Prix was held today in Bodø and from the seven songs participating, only two could directly go through to the final which will take place in Oslo's Spektrum on the 6th of February (qualifiers in bold):

  • Venke Knutson - Jealous Cause I Love You
  • Skanksters - Life Is Here Today
  • Tomine Harket - Be Good To Me
  • Hanne Haugsand - Don't Stop
  • Maria Arredondo - The Touch
  • Heine Totland - The Best Of Me Is You
  • Alexander Stenerud - Give It To Me

Venke Knutson and Heine Totland will have another chance to qualify in the Siste Sjansen round that will take place on the 30th of January in Sarpsborg.

The composer of Maria Arredondo's song is no-one less than Rolf Løvland who managed to already win the Eurovision Song Contest twice as a composer: in 1985 with the Bobbysocks and exactly one decade later with Secret Garden's Nocturne. Will it be third time lucky for Rolf this year on home ground?

Hanne Haugsand was a member of the group Charmed who represented Norway in the 2000 Eurovision Song Contest in Stockholm's Globen Arena with My Heart Goes Boom. Alexander Stenerud participated in the Melodi Grand Prix 2008 and 2009, ending up third last year.

Norway won the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest with Alexander Rybak's Fairytale which went on to be a massive international success.


Comments 💬

Related stories
KEiiNO, winner of Norway's 'Melodi Grand Prix 2019'

KEiiNO is Norway's choice for Tel Aviv!

2 years ago

This weekend we will confirm 7 new entries for Tel Aviv!

2 years ago
Super Saturday 2

Super Saturday 2: All the links and show info you need

2 days ago