Skip to main content

Making your mind up time for the juries

21 May 2012 at 23:00 CEST

18 songs: 21 juries

Eighteen songs will participate in the First Semi-Final, and professional juries in each of the participating countries, as well as in Azerbaijan, Italy and Spain will be voting on tonight's dress rehearsal. They will account for 50% of the overall total.

Each jury will be comprised of five members, (including a chairperson) who  will be the same jurors who will also be voting in the Final. They will monitored by an independent notary in each country. The jury consists of a variety of members in terms of age, gender, and background. They are all citizens of the country they are representing.

None of the jury members are connected with any of the participating songs or artists, in order that they can vote independently. All jury members have made signed declarations stating that they will vote independently.

The names of the jury members should be revealed by the broadcasters during the Final.

The Jury Voting

Each jury member will rank their top ten favourite songs, and award points from 1 to 8, 10 and 12 points.

The chairperson will allocate 12 points to the song having obtained the highest number of votes from all jury members, 10 points to the song having obtained the second highest number of votes, 8 points for the song having obtained the third highest number of votes, then 7 points next, and so on down to 1 point for the song having obtained the tenth highest number of votes from all jury members.

In the event of a tie for any of the above positions, the order of tying songs shall be determined by a show of hands by the jury members, with no abstentions allowed.

The EBU's televoting partner Digame will merge the points given by the jury and the televoters tomorrow night per individual country. If there is a tie between two or more songs between jury votes and televotes, then the song gaining the most televotes will be ranked higher.

The contenders

  1. Montenegro: Euro Neuro sung by Rambo Amadeus
  2. Iceland: Never Forget sung by Greta Salóme & Jónsi
  3. Greece: Aphrodisiac sung by Eleftheria Eleftheriou
  4. Latvia: Beautiful Song sung by Anmary
  5. Albania: Suus sung Rona Nishliu
  6. Romania: Zaleilah sung by Mandinga
  7. Switzerland: Unbreakable sung by Sinplus
  8. Belgium: Would You? sung by Iris
  9. Finland: När Jag Blundar sung by Pernilla
  10. Israel: Time sung by Izabo
  11. San Marino: The Social Network Song sung by Valentina Monetta
  12. Cyprus: La, La, Love sung by Ivi Adamou
  13. Denmark: Should've Known Better sung by Soluna Samay
  14. Russia: Party For Everybody sung by Buranovskiye Babushki
  15. Hungary: Sound Of Our Hearts sung Compact Disco
  16. Austria: Woki Mit Deim Popo sung by Trackshittaz
  17. Moldova: Lăutar sung by Pasha Parfeny
  18. Ireland: Waterline sung by Jedward

This content is unfortunately no longer available

This content is unfortunately no longer available

This content is unfortunately no longer available

The live show of the First Semi-Final of the Eurovision Song Contest 2012 will take place on Tuesday 22nd of May at 21:00 CET and will broadcast live on

Watch behind the scenes video from the first dress rehearsal