Skip to main content

Lucie Jones becomes 60th UK Eurovision entry

27 January 2017 at 22:58 CET
Lucie Jones will represent the United Kingdom at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest. Charlie Clift
Lucie Jones has won Eurovision: You Decide tonight at the Eventim Apollo in London, and will represent the United Kingdom in Kyiv with the song Never Give Up On You. The song was co-written by Emmelie de Forest, who won the Eurovision Song Contest for Denmark in 2013 with the song Only Teardrops.

Mel Giedroyc presented Eurovision: You Decide in which six acts fought for the right to become the United Kingdom's 60th Eurovision entry. Prior to the performances 2009 winner Alexander Rybak opened the show with a powerful rendition of his song Fairytale.

The expert panel were on-hand to comment on the performances; Bruno Tonioli, Sophie Ellis-Bextor and CeCe Sammy. They formed part of an eight person jury, and their votes, along with the public televote were combined in order to determine the winner of Eurovision: You Decide.

Lucie Jones

Lucie is a 25 year old singer from Pentyrch, a small village just outside Cardiff in Wales. She first came to prominence in the sixth series of The X Factor in the United Kingdom, where she advanced to the live shows, and reached week five where she lost out in the vote to Jedward, who went on to represent Ireland in the Eurovision Song Contest in both 2011 and 2012.

After The X Factor Lucie was signed up to play the role of Cosette in the West End production of Les Miserables, and in 2015 as Molly in the Chinese tour of Ghost The Musical, and in 2016 as Maureen in the UK tour of Rent. Her television work includes role in Midsomer Murders and The Sarah Jane Adventures.

The winning song Never Give Up On You has been co-written by Emmelie de Forest, who won the Eurovision Song Contest for Denmark in 2013 with the song Only Teardrops. 

Minutes after her victory Lucie spoke to UK semi-final commentator Scott Mills:

The Finalists

  • Holly Brewer I Wish I Loved You More        

Written by Kevin Fisher, Courtney Harrell, Laurell Barker, Mattias Frändå, Johan Åsgärde and Oliver Lundström.

  • Danyl Johnson Light Up The World

Written by Dan McAlister, Rick Blaskey, Greg Walker, Chris Sutherland and Ameerah Roelants.

  • Lucie Jones Never Give Up On You

Written by The Treatment, Emmelie de Forest and Lawrie Martin. 

  • Olivia Garcia Freedom Hearts

Written by Gabriel Alares, Sebastian Lestapier, Linnea Nelson and Laurell Barker.

  • Nate Simpson What Are We Made Of 

Written by Jon Hällgren, Eric Lumiere and DWB. 

  •  Salena Mastroianni I Don’t Wanna Fight

Written by The Treatment, Nicole Blair and Marli Harwood.

Eurovision: You Decide also featured the British pop rock band, The Vamps performing their song All Night. 

All the songs, can be found on the BBC official Eurovision website.

Lucie Jones will represent the United Kingdom with Never Give Up On You at the Grand Final of the Eurovision Song Contest on the 13th May in Kyiv. 

What do you think of the United Kingdom's entry Never Give Up On You? Tell us below.