Skip to main content

Live: Who will the Netherlands send to Oslo?

07 February 2010 at 01:00 CET

The five hopefuls are:

  • Sieneke (coached by Marianne Weber)
  • Vinzzent (coached by Grad Damen)
  • Marlous (coached by Corry Konings)
  • Peggy Mays (coached by Albert West)
  • Loekz, consisting of Jezebel, Elske, Merel, Dessa(lee), Esra and Martine (coached by Frans Bauer)

Without having heard all versions of Ik Ben Verliefd (Sha-la-lie), fans consider the group Loekz to be the main favourite to win the Dutch ticket to the Norwegian capital.

This year, broadcaster TROS takes over the Dutch Eurovision Song Contest duties from broadcaster NOS. The transition of power did not pass unnoticed, and certainly not without buzz. Fans and press criticised the broadcaster for the choices made, and especially questioned the potential of the - internally - selected song. Listen to the demo right here:


Radio DJ Daniël Dekker, singer and actress Tatjana Simic, singer George Baker, and 'Mr Eurovision' Johnny Logan will each have a 20 percent stake in the decision. The studio audience will also have a 20 percent stake. The show will be hosted by Yolanthe Cabau van Kasbergen.

Last year, The Toppers with their song Shine didn't get further than a 17th place in the second Semi-Final of the Eurovision Song Contest.