The official website of the Eurovision Song Contest
Lisbon, Portugal
8, 10 & 12 May 2018
Tune in live at 21:00 CEST
Eurovision Song Contest
Official partner
The Native

Lithuanians revise selection format

Posted 9 January, 2008, 16:31

LRT received 70 songs to compete in the national selection, only half of them will take part in the semi-finals. Four songs from each semi-final will qualify for the final. Wildcards have been given to Aistė Pilvelytė, who took part in the national selections of 1999, 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2007, and Julija Ritčik. The latter represented Lithuania at last year's Eurovision Song Contest as lead singer of the band 4Fun. LRT will also give a second chance to one of the artists who will not qualify from the semi finals - a special panel will decide on this. All events will be taking place at the LRT studios. In the semi-finals, a jury and viewers will decide which acts will pass on to the final at a 50/50 split. In the final, it is entirely up to the viewers to decide. The semi-finals will be hosted by Rolandas Vilkončius, who will be joined by Gabrielė Bartkutė during the final, just like in 2007. LRT will broadcast the three semi-finals and the final on television and through its website.
Lithuania2008newsLRTEurovizijaAistė PilvelytėJulija Ritčik4Fun
Share this story