Skip to main content

Lithuania: Martynas is leaving the competition

10 February 2014 at 18:11 CET

After all perfomances the Lithuanian expert jury, international music professionals and viewers, evaluated what they have seen and heard on the stage and the results of the jury panels and televoting were announced at the end of the show as usual. Still, LRT decided to postpone the announcement about who is being eliminated among the five artists, because of the unbalanced outcome of the televoting that raised serious suspicions about manipulations during the voting.

Irregularities confirmed

According to results revealed during the show, Mia was the favourite among TV viewers (1.355 votes). On other hand, Monika Linkytė got the biggest support from the jury (33 points). Lithuanian national broadcaster wanted to be sure that there was no irregularities, but unfortunatelly there was. Martynas Kavaliauskas recieved 677 irregular votes more through televoting which means that Mia, Vilija, Vaidas and Monika are those who qualified for the next round.

The real outcome of televoting and the jury vote, in the last episode of LRT's Eurovision marathon was:

  1. Mia 1.355 / 12
  2. Vilija Matačiūnaitė 1.302 / 10
  3. Vaidas Baumila 1.113 / 8
  4. Monika Linkytė 1.079 / 7
  5. Martynas Kavaliauskas 655 / 6 (1.332-677)

The Show #9 (out of twelve in Lithuanian national selection this year) was filmed six days ago (on 4th of February) and aired on Saturday (8th of February) at 20:00 CET! During a two-hour TV broadcast, five contestants performed ten entries (each artist two of ten remaining competing songs). However, only four of them managed to qualify for the the next show.

A battle of performers in focus

Like in the previous shows, only the performances of contestants were evaluated during the broadcast, not the songs. However, there is a public vote through LRT’s web-platform, where TV viewers and/or listeners can vote for their favourite tracks parallely, regardless to who is performing them in the show. Their votes and votes of the jury are being combined and those entries, which are not getting enough of support, are being eliminated.

Part One

  1. Mia "It's Not Too Late"
  2. Martynas Kavaliauskas "Worlds Apart"
  3. Vilija Matačiūnaitė "Blowing Out Cobwebs"
  4. Vaidas Baumila "Attention"
  5. Monika Linkytė "You Found Me"

Part Two

  1. Mia "It's All About A Boy"
  2. Martynas Kavaliauskas "Take A Look At Me Now"
  3. Vilija Matačiūnaitė "Dying"
  4. Vaidas Baumila "Is This The Way (You Want Me)"
  5. Monika Linkytė "Let's Share That Love Tonight"

In the episode from last Saturday, Lithuanian panel that was evaluating five finalists and their performances was consisted of: Vytenis Pauliukaitis, Darius Užkuraitis, Edmundas Seilius and Ramūnas Zilnys. The international one had a same cast: Brandon Stone (Germany), Liselott Bjork (Sweden) and Valerij Prosirov (Russia).

Facts and figures

If you missed the show you can still watch it here. However, if you just want to check some of the performances, visit LRT's YouTube channel.

Lietuvos nacionalinis radijas ir televizija (LRT) has a bit different concept for the national selection ("Eurovizijos" dainų konkurso nacionalinė atranka) this year:

*12 TV shows are being produced and broadcasted in the primetime (20:00 CET) every Saturday! 

*20 artists were competing for the role of being Lithuanian representative at Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen at the beginning – there are only four left!

*16 competing songs (also from international authors). You can hear them here.

*The final decision about the artist and a song for Copenhagen, will be made in the show scheduled for the 1st of March.

*Lithuania will compete in the first half of the second Semi-final of Eurovision Song Contest (8 of May).

*The next episode of LRT"s Eurovision marathon is just in a week, on Saturday (15th of February) at 20:00 CET!