Litesound as new Belarusian representative in Baku

Today BRTC has announced a new participant for Baku. Litesound who won the jury's voting on the 14th of February will represent their country in the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest. The band will rock the stage with their song We Are The Heroes!

Litesound is a Minsk band, performing pop-rock in English. The band comprises the two brothers Dmitry and Vladimir Karyakin plus Jacopo Massa, Italian singer who lives in Italy. The band started in 2002 in the form of an acoustic duet by Dmitry (vocal) and Vladimir (guitar, coauthor). In winter 2004 Sergey Grinko (drums) and Mario Gulinsky (bass guitar) joined the band, changing it into a quartet, and started to perform in Belarus. And the current shape of the band, a trio, exists since 2006.

This content is unfortunately no longer available

They have taken part in the national elimination rounds for Eurovision in 2006, 2007, 2008 where the band placed among the top five performers (2nd in 2008). Litesound have also reached high places with their songs in the domestic charts and they can count on several international awards:

  • Victory at the contest “MOVA songwriters’ competition” (USA, 2002)
  • Victory at the “Modern Rock Bands Competition” (China, 2002)
  • I prize at an international contest in Italy, 2006
  • A diploma (for Dmitry Kariakin) at the vocalists’ contest “World songs” (Moldova, 2007) 

The song We Are The Heroes is written by the pair of brothers Dmitry and Vladimir Kariakin. Belarus will compete in the Second Semi-Final of the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest on the 24th of May in Baku.

Comments 💬

Related stories
Belarus' Eurovision 2020 act VAL

Belarus will be represented by VAL with 'Da Vidna'

1 year ago

Belarus goes for ZENA with 'Like It'!

1 year ago
Klara Hammarström performed Beat Of Broken Hearts at Andra Chansen

Latest news: Sweden reveals grand finale running order 🇸🇪

21 hours ago