Latvia to start its national selection

LTV has reported that the format of Eirodziesma 2009 will be different from its previous editions and will feature three semi-finals in January and February. 

Three songs from every semi-final will qualify for the final to he held on 28th of February. One more song will be chosen at a "Second Chance" round during the last semi-final.

The televoters will finally select the winning song to send to represent Latvia in Moscow.

LTV also released the restrictions for the songs and its authors. Namely, only one third of all songs qualified for the semi-finals can be of foreign origin. 

Also, the performers have to have Latvian citizenship or have to be considered by Latvian laws as non-citizens and each author can submit only a total of two songs.

Latvia was the only Baltic state to pass on to the final of the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest and achieved a respectable 11th place with Pirates of the Sea's Wolves Of The Sea.

Comments 💬

Related stories
Samanta Tina

Latvia chooses Samanta Tīna for Eurovision 2020

1 year ago
Zala Kralj & Gašper Šanti, winners of 'EMA 2019' in Slovenia

The weekend in review: Five new participants for Eurovision 2019

2 years ago
Barbara Pravi will represent France at Eurovision 2021

France decided: Barbara Pravi to Eurovision 2021!

4 weeks ago