Latvia: first 5 hopefuls make final

The procedure is easy: two semi-finals and a "second chance" round will decide about the 12 songs in the Latvian final. In the first two semi-finals, 5 songs out of 10 will reach the final, three chosen by televote while the other two will be selected by a specially-formed expert jury. The 10 unlucky entries which don't get chosen in the first place shouldn't despair though as they will have another go in the "second chance" round where two more songs will reach the final, one selected by televote and the other by the expert jury. Ultimately, it will thus be 12 songs in the final which will take place on the 26th of February in Ventspils.

The 10 semi-finalists tonight were (qualifiers in bold):

  • Blitze - Hop
  • Dace Upīte & Nikolajs Puzikovs - It's Not Easy
  • D-family - Daylight
  • Ineta Rudzīte & Uldis Timma - Walking On My Tiptoes 
  • Sabīne Berezina - Let Me Be 
  • Pieneņu Vīns - You Are
  • Evija Sloka - Don't Stop The Dance 
  • Jānis Stībelis - Let It Be Me 
  • Ģirts Zebuliņš & Atis Zviedris - Rough Enough 
  • LieneCandy - Love Is Like An Aeroplane 

Three of the songs qualified via televote (Blitze, Evija Sloka and Pieneņu Vīns) while the other two got the votes of a specially formed jury.

Blitze's song was composed by Mārtiņš Freimanis - member of the group F.L.Y which participated for Latvia in the 2003 Eurovision Song Contest - who died on the 27th of January, being only 33 years old.

Latvia failed to qualify for the Grand Final of the 2009 and 2010 Eurovision Song Contests - will they be back with a revenge in this year's contest?

Comments 💬

Related stories
Samanta Tina

Latvia chooses Samanta Tīna for Eurovision 2020

1 year ago
Zala Kralj & Gašper Šanti, winners of 'EMA 2019' in Slovenia

The weekend in review: Five new participants for Eurovision 2019

2 years ago
Klara Hammarström performed Beat Of Broken Hearts at Andra Chansen

Latest news: Sweden reveals grand finale running order 🇸🇪

9 hours ago