Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


It's Basim for Denmark to Copenhagen!

Posted 8 March 2014 at 22:14

Danmark's Radio (DR), host broadcaster of the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest, have not forgotten their own national selection, Dansk Melodi Grand Prix, this year: they produced a fantastic show where 10 talented acts had the opportunity to perform for an entire nation.
However, only one act could win, and that was the wonderful Basim with the song Cliché Love Song!
Basim will now have the honour of representing Denmark on home turf at Europe's favourite TV show in Copenhagen on the 10th of May, where all eyes will be on him to see if he can make it two victories in a row.

Big Final

After the 10 acts had performed, an initial round of voting took place where the juries and televoters decided which three songs would go on to the so-called "Store Finale" (Big Final) to be performed again. These were (winner in bold):
  1. Basim - Cliché Love Song - 1st Place
  2. Michael Rune feat. Natascha Bessez - Wanna Be Loved - 2nd Place
  3. Rebekka Thornbech - Your Lies - 3rd Place

Eurovision legends perform

Tonight, viewers of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2014 were in for a treat. Just before the winner was announced, three legends of the Danish Eurovision Song Contest scene performed together on stage.
Rollo & King came second at the Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen in 2001 with their song Never Ever Let You Go, missing on a second victory in a row to Estonia. Kirsten & Søren came third at the 1988 contest in Dublin with the song Ka' du se' hva' jeg sa' and Birthe Kjær came third in Lausanne with the song Vi Maler Byen Rød.

"Eurovision has changed my life completely"

Before tonight's show in Odense, we spoke to last year's winner of the Eurovision Song Contest, who spoke about a year that has completely changed her life. She also spoke about her new single and the official #JoinUs song for Copenhagen, Rainmaker. You can see both parts of the interview here:
{Video#YT, id: YqQ1aIN6VwI}
{Video#YT, id: Qf1fJ01t50E}

Official #JoinUs song performed

After opening Dansk Melodi Grand Prix with a new rendition of her winning song, Only Teardrops, Emmelie de Forest also formed part of the interval act by performing her new single, Rainmaker, which will also be the official song of the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen. In addition, she performed it together with all ten participants of tonight's show.

The 10 acts

Below is a list of the 10 participants of Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2014 that took Arena Fyn in Odense tonight (winner in bold):
Song 1: I Choose U Artist: Bryan Rice Music/Lyrics: Lars Halvor Jensen, Johannes Jørgensen, Shanna Crooks
Song 2: Your Lies Artist: Rebekka Thornbech Music/Lyrics: Danne Attlerud, Gustav Eurén, Niclas Arn
Song 3: Feeling the You (Wildcard) Artist: SONNY Music/Lyrics: SONNY, Frederik Tao Nordsøe Schjoldan, Thomas Lumpkins
Song 4: She’s the One Artist: Danni Elmo Music/Lyrics: Engelina, Alexander Brown, Søren Vestergaard, Marcus Linnet
Song 5: Vi Finder Hjem Artist: Emilie Moldow Music/Lyrics: Engelina, Ole Brodersen, Kasper Larsen, Basim
Song 6: Right By Your Side Artist: GlamboyP Music/Lyrics: Mathias Kallenberger, Andreas Berlin, Jasmine Anderson
Song 7: Before You Forget Me (Wildcard) Artist: Nadia Malm Music/Lyrics: Nadia Malm
Song 8: Cliché Love Song Artist: Basim Music/Lyrics: Lasse Lindorff, Kim Nowak-Zorde, Daniel Fält, Basim
Song 9: It Hurts (Wildcard) Artist: Anna David Music/Lyrics: Anna David, Lasse Lindorff, Kim Nowak-Zorde, Jeremy Huffleman, Marli Harwood, Michael Harwood, Nick Keynes.
Song 10: Wanna be Loved (Wildcard) Artist: Michael Rune feat. Natascha Bessez Music/Lyrics: Lars Halvor Jensen, Martin Larsson, Luke Madden, Lemare Obika
As host country, Denmark will take part in the Grand Final of the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest, which takes place at the B&W-Hallerne in Copenhagen on the 10th of May.
DROdensenational selectionDansk Melodi Grand PrixDenmark2014news
Share this story