Ireland's RTÉ calls out for Eurovision songs

After much reviewing, RTÉ has decided to re-appoint the same five members chaired by Eurovision winner Linda Martin and including Universal Music Ireland's Mark Crossingham, showbiz agent/choreographer Julian Benson, RTÉ Eurovision Song Contest commentator Larry Gogan, and Diarmuid Furlong, head of the Official Eurovision Fan Club (OGAE) of Ireland.

The selection process will have a few modifications that give the panel more flexibility in the selection of the performers. The panel will exercise their judgement in relation to the pairing of songs with performers and may invite acts to perform for them before a final decision is made.

Linda Martin said: "Having been on the selection panel for the last number of years, we have previously come across good songs to which the performer is not ideally suited, or some great performers let down by a song that doesn’t showcase their ability to the full. We all know that the competition is extremely tough and what this new rule [a shared vote between the juries and the viewers -] allows us to do, is to put forward the best possible package of song and singer to perform for the Irish public on the Late Late Show and ultimately to represent Ireland on the Eurovision Song Contest stage".

The closing date for entries is noon on Monday, 1st of February 2010. 

Five songs will be put forward by the selection panel to compete in a Late Late Show Eurosong 2010 special in early March.

Ireland did not qualify for the Final of the Eurovision Song Contest this year with Sinéad Mulvey & Black Daisy's Et Cetera.

Comments 💬

Related stories
Lesley Roy will represent Ireland at the Eurovision Song Contest 2021

Lesley Roy shares 'Maps' for Rotterdam

2 days ago
Ireland's Eurovision 2020 representative Lesley Roy

Lesley Roy's story continues for Ireland

2 months ago

2021 artists to record song “live-on-tape” to ensure Contest will happen

3 months ago