Skip to main content

Ireland's Eurovision winners on tour

09 October 2012 at 15:31 CEST

‘Best Of Eurovision’ Ireland’s Winners will bring the audience on a tour down memory lane telling Ireland’s Eurovision Song Contest story with a stunning audio and visual display featuring the most iconic moments in Ireland’s Eurovision history.

Europe's Favourite TV Show holds a very special place in the hearts and lives of people all across Ireland and the tour is the chance to relive those great moments and be a part of this magical and memorable night.

The tour begins in the Grand Canal in Dublin on Thursday 11th of October with a stunning stage production, spectacular lighting and staging effects together with a live eight piece band. The tour continues in various towns and cities across the island.

Ireland first won the contest in 1970 when Dana sang All Kinds Of Everything in Amsterdam. Ten years later it was Johnny Logan who triumphed in The Hague with What's Another Year?, and in 1987 he became the first singer to win the contest twice when his own composition Hold Me Now took the honour in Brussels.

Logan returned as a winning composer when Linda Martin sang Why Me? in Malmö in 1992, and the country enjoyed further success in the following years with Niamh Kavanagh winning on home soil in Millstreet with In Your Eyes in 1993 and Paul Harrington and Charlie McGettigan winning in Dublin in 1994 with Rock 'n' Roll Kids.

The only Irish winner who is absent from the tour is Eimear Quinn who took the prize back to Ireland for a seventh time in 1996 with The Voice.

Details on tickets and venues can be found via Ticketmaster.