Skip to main content

Ireland reveals their five artists and songs

05 February 2014 at 19:23 CET

Last November RTÉ nominated five mentors with proven experience in the Irish music industry and asked each of them to select an act and a song which they believe has the potential to be a Eurovision winner.

The songs and singers

Valerie Roe chose her sister, a Eurosong veteran Patricia Roe and her self-penned song Don’t Hold On; Mark Murphy selected Eoghan Quigg and The Movie Song, which was written by Karl Broderick; Hazel Kaneswaran chose Can-linn, featuring Kasey Smith, to perform a song called Heartbeat which Hazel composed along with Jonas Gladnikoff, Rasmus Palmgren and Patrizia Helander; mentor Cormac Battle wrote Be Mine for Andrew Mann to perform; and Aslan’s Billy McGuinness chose Laura O’Neill as his act and the song You Don’t Remember Me, which was composed by Don Mescall and Lucie Silvas.

First airplay 

The public will get the chance to hear the five songs for the first time tomorrow afternoon (Thursday 6th February): on RTÉ 2FM from 15:00 CET Rick O’Shea will debut the songs, while Derek Mooney will give the songs their first RTÉ Radio 1 airing after 16:00 CET.

The winning act will be selected on Eurosong 2014 on The Late Late Show on Friday the 28th of February. As was the case in previous years, Ireland’s Eurovision entry will be selected by a combination of public and regional jury vote.