Skip to main content

Ireland: Niamh Kavanagh back in the contest!

06 March 2010 at 01:36 CET

The Irish final could be followed live here on ESCTV and featured some very famous names in the line-up. Apart from 1993 Eurovision Song Contest winner Niamh Kavanagh, we could find Mikey Graham, member of the highly successful boyband Boyzone. As composers, Ralph Siegel - who had written the 1982 Eurovision Song Contest winner Ein Bißchen Frieden - and Marc Paelinck, the mastermind behind the Belgian entries 2002 and 2004 as well as the Maltese entry 2009, were present.

The line-up tonight looked like this (winner in bold):

  • Leanne Moore - Does Heaven Need Much More? (composed by Tommy Moran & John Waters)
  • Lee Bradshaw - River Of Silence (composed by Ralph Siegel, John O'Flynn & José Santana)
  • Michael Graham - Baby Nothing's Wrong (composed by Michael Graham, Scott Newman & Yann O'Brien)  
  • Monika Ivkic - Fashion Queen (composed by Marc Paelinck & Mathias Strasser)
  • Niamh Kavanagh - It's For You (composed by Niall Mooney, Mårten Eriksson, Jonas Gladnikoff & Lina Eriksson)

The winner was decided by 50% regional jury vote and 50% televote.

Two of the composers, Niall Mooney and Jonas Gladnikoff, aren't strangers to the Eurovision Song Contest either as they wrote last year's Irish entry Et Cetera which was performed by Sinead Mulvey & Black Daisy. The song narrowly missed out on a final spot in Moscow.

Ireland is looking for its first Eurovision Song Contest winner since 1996 when Eimear Quinn won with The Voice. Interestingly, she won in this year's host city for the Eurovision Song Contest, Oslo - is that a good omen for Ireland? We will know on the 29th of May!

You can watch the final again here on ESCTV!