Igor Cukrov takes the Croatian ticket to Moscow

Tonights show was hosted by Duško Ćurlić and Danijela Trbović, and as with the semi final yesterday evening, was held in the Cristal Hall of the Hotel Kvarner in Opatija.Opening the show were last years Croatian representatives Kraljevi Ulice featuring 75 Cent who sang their 2008 entry Romanca.

A total of 16 finalists competed for the right to represent Croatia in Moscow. Ten were invited directly by broadcaster HRT and last night six songs joined them from the semi final. The running order tonight was as follows :-

  • Ana Bebić- Mrzim Spore Stvari
  • Hari Rončević i Kvartet Bravo- Još Uvik
  • Ruswaj- Što Će Mi Ljubav
  • Mijo Lešina- To Nisam Ja
  • Dražen Žanko- Samo Ti
  • Franka- Pjesma Za Kraj
  • Mario Battifiaca- Ma Gdje Bila
  • Viva- Opet
  • Ivo Gamulin Gianni- Daj Mi Jedan Razlog
  • Feminnem- Poljupci U Boji
  • Denis Dumančić- Srce Moram Seliti
  • Danijela Pintarić- Zlatna Rijeka
  • Čager Zoc i Papak Dance Company -Ritam Da Se Ritam
  • Tomislav Bralić & Klapa Intrade- Ne Damo Te Pismo Naša
  • Igor Cukrov- Lijepa Tena
  • Aria- Istina Je

Following the performances, a lengthy interval act took place which included Paul Young performing a collection of his greatest hits. This evenings result was decided by a combination of public televoting and jury voting. Igor Cukrov finished in second place with both the jury and televoting which was enough to carry him to victory.

Croatia qualified from the Semi-Final last year in Belgrade, and Kraljevi Ulice featuring 75 Cent finished in 21st place in the Final. Igor Cukrov will compete in the Second Semi Final of Europe's favourite TV-show on Thursday 14th May in Moscow.

Croatia has been participating in the Eurovision Song Contest as an independent nation since 1993. Their best result to date is 4th place which was achieved by Maja Blagdan with the song Sveta Ljubav in 1996 in Oslo, and also by Doris Dragovic in 1999 in Jerusalem with Marija Magdalena. Croatia also won the first edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in 2003 when Dino Jelusić took the title in Copenhagen with his catchy song Ti Si Moja Prva Ljubav.

Watch Igor Cukrov's winning performance








Comments 💬

Related stories
Damir Kedžo, Croatia's Eurovision 2020 participant

Damir Kedžo wins Croatia's ticket to Rotterdam

1 year ago
Croatia's 2019 representative Roko

Croatia goes for Roko with 'The Dream' in 2019

2 years ago
Albina performed 'Tick-Tock' at Dora 2021

Albina clocks up a win in Croatia with Tick-Tock

2 weeks ago