The official website of the Eurovision Song Contest
Greta Salóme (Iceland 2012) to the final of Söngvakeppnin 2016
Lisbon, Portugal
8, 10 & 12 May 2018
Tune in live at 21:00 CEST
Eurovision Song Contest
Official partner
The Native

Iceland: Söngvakeppnin first results

Victor M. Escudero
Victor M. Escudero
Posted 6 Febuary, 2016, 22:49

One more year Iceland will choose its participant for Eurovision through the competition Söngvakeppnin. The national selection comprises two semi-finals with six songs each, and tonight the first six battled out for the first three spots in the Final on the 20th of February.

The first semi-final of Söngvakeppnin 2016 just took place at the Háskólabíó venue in Reykjavik, hosted by Ragnhildur Steinunn Jónsdóttir & Guðrún Dís Emilsdóttir. In the show three songs have won their ticket to the final:
  • Greta Salóme - Raddirnar
  • Karlotta Sigurðardóttir - Óstöðvandi
  • Hjörtur Traustason & Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir - Hugur minn er

The results were decided by televoting only.

The line-up of semi-final 1

Twelve acts in total compete for the honour to represent Iceland at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest in Sweden. They are divided in two semi-finals and the first six participated in tonight's show (in order of appearance):
  1. Greta Salóme - Raddirnar (Greta Salóme Stefánsdóttir)
  2. Hjörtur Traustason & Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir - Hugur minn er (Þórunn Erna Clausen)
  3. Ingólfur Þórarinsson - Fátækur námsmaður (Ingólfur Þórarinsson)
  4. The Band Eva - Ég sé þig (Sigríður Eir Zophoniasardóttir & Jóhanna Vala Höskuldsdóttir)
  5. Karlotta Sigurðardóttir - Óstöðvandi (Kristinn Sigurpáll Sturluson, Ylva Persson, Linda Persson & Karlotta Sigurðardóttir)
  6. Sigga Eyrún - Kreisí (Karl Olgeirsson & Sigríður Eyrún Friðriksdóttir)
The top three songs in the semi-final, chosen by televoting, qualified for the final on the 20th of February. The remaining three songs can still get a wildcard to be announced  after next week's semi-final. 

Who's who?

  • Greta Salóme composed the song Never Forget and performed it with Jónsi in 2012 in Baku.
  • Ingólfur Þórarinsson has had the the runner-up song Undir regnbogann in Söngvakeppnin 2009. He also participated in 2010.
  • Hjörtur Traustason was the winner in the Icelandic version of The Voice 2015.
  • Þórunn Erna Clausen wrote the lyrics for the song Coming Home which Sjonni‘s Friends which represented Iceland in Düsseldorf in 2011.
  • Sigga Eyrún performed the runner-up song, written by Karl Orgeirsson, in Söngvakeppnin in 2014.
Victor M. Escudero
Victor M. Escudero
Icelandnational selection2016newsSöngvakeppninGreta Salomé
Share this story


About this image
Greta Salóme (Iceland 2012) to the final of Söngvakeppnin 2016 ©