Skip to main content

Iceland: Söngvakeppnin 2016 contestants revealed

11 December 2015 at 22:20 CET
This year Iceland celebrates thirty years in the Eurovision Song Contest and the final of Söngvakeppnin 2016 on the 20th of February promises to be the biggest ever contest and a massive television event in Iceland.

Tonight, the national broadcaster, RUV, announced the twelve songs chosen to compete in Söngvakeppnin 2016. The national final will take place on the 20th of February where six of the twelve following entrants will compete. These six finalists will be chosen by the public through televoting in two separate televised semi-finals on the 6th and the 13th of February. Both public televoting and a jury (50/50) will choose two songs to go forward to a head-to-head in a final sing-off. The winning song will then be chosen by the public. RUV promises a fabulous show to celebrate their thirty Eurovision anniversary, with both overseas and Icelandic Eurovision stars set to grace the stage!


  1. Sigga Eyrún - Kreisí (Crazy)

    Music: Karl Olgeirsson

    Lyrics: Karl Olgeirsson / Sigríður Eyrún Friðriksdóttir
  2. Helgi Valur Ásgeirsson - Óvær (Uneasy)

    Music and lyrics: Karl Olgeirsson
  3. Erna Mist & Magnús Thorlacius - Ótöluðorð (Unspoken words)

    Music and lyrics: Erna Mist / Magnús Thorlacius
  4. Erna Hrönn Ólafsdóttir & Hjörtur Traustason - Hugurminner (My mind is)

    Music and lyrics: Þórunn Erna Clausen
  5. Þórdís Birna Borgarsdóttir & Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson - Spring yfirheiminn (All over the world)

    Music: Júlí Heiðar Halldórsson

    Lyrics: Júlí Heiðar Halldórsson / Guðmundur Snorri Sigurðarson
  6. Alda Dís Arnardóttir - Augnablik (One Moment)

    Music: Alma Guðmundsdóttir / James Wong

    Lyrics: Alma Guðmundsdóttir / James Wong / Alda Dís Arnardóttir
  7. Karlotta Sigurðardóttir - Óstöðvandi (Unstoppable)

    Music: Kristinn Sigurpáll Sturluson / Ylfa Persson / Linda Persson.

    Lyrics: Alma Rut Kristjánsdóttir / Ylfa Persson / Linda Persson.
  8. Ingólfur Þórarinsson - Fátækurnámsmaður (A broke student)

    Music and lyrics: Ingólfur Þórarinsson
  9. Elísabet Ormslev - Á ný (Again)

    Music and lyrics: Greta Salome Stefánsdóttir
  10. Greta Salome Stefánsdóttir - Raddirnar (The Voices)

    Music and lyrics: Greta Salome Stefánsdóttir
  11. Sigríður Eir Zophoniasardóttir & Jóhanna Vala Höskuldsdóttir - Égséþig (I see you)

    Music and lyrics: Sigríður Eir Zophoniasardóttir and JóhannaVala Höskuldsdóttir
  12. Pálmi Gunnarsson - Égleiðiþigheim (I lead you home)

    Music and lyricsi: Þórir Úlfarsson

Iceland made its Eurovision Song Contest debut in 1986 in Bergen with the song Gleðibankinn, performed by the trio ICY. Expectations were high in Iceland but the song disappointingly finished 16th out of 20 participants. Nevertheless the contest became hugely popular in Iceland and has remained so ever since. Iceland's performers Selma and Yohanna have both secured second places in the Eurovision Grand Final, but the national track record in recent years has also been very impressive: Iceland qualified for the Eurovision finals for a remarkable seven consecutive years (2008-2014), before finally missing out on qualification from the Semi-Finals last year in Austria.