Skip to main content

Iceland: First details released around 2012 selection

24 November 2011 at 01:05 CET

S├Ângvakeppni Sj├│nvarpsins is the title of the Icelandic Eurovision Song Contest 2012 pre-selection show.

It will begin on Saturday January 14th 2012. As in previous years, composers and authors of Icelandic nationality were asked to participate and send in songs with Icelandic lyrics. This resulted in a  total of 164 songs being submitted.

Composers details released

A professional jury will have the task of selecting the 15 songs that will compete in the three heats of five songs and one final show. The heats will take place on Januray 14th, 21st and 28th. The voting procedure will be 50/50 televotes and jury.

The final will be held on Saturday February 11th where at least six songs and possibly two wildcards will be fighting for the chance of becoming the Icelandic entry in Europe's Favourite TV Show in 2012, where voting again will be a 50/50 split.

The composers of the entries have already been announced:-

  • Axel ├ürnason and Ing├│lfur ├×├│rarinsson
  • ├ürni Hjartarson
  • Ellert H. J├│hannsson
  • Gestur Gu├░nason
  • Greta Sal├│me Stef├ínsd├│ttir (2 entries)
  • Herbert Gu├░mundsson og Svanur Herbertsson
  • Hilmar Hl├ş├░berg Gunnarsson
  • Magn├║s H├ívar├░arson
  • Mar├şa Bj├Ârk Sverrisd├│ttir
  • Fredrik Randquist and Marcus Frenell
  • P├ętur Arnar Kristinsson
  • Sveinn R├║nar Sigur├░sson (3 entries)
  • Valgeir Skagfj├Âr├░ 

Sveinn R├║nar Sigur├░sson, also known as Svenni is the most well known of the composers in Eurovision Song Contest history terms, he was responsible for composing the Icelandic entries Heaven in 2004, and Valentine Lost in 2007.

Iceland have qualified for the Final of Europe's Favourite TV Show for four years running now, finishing with their joint best ever position, second place in the Final in 2009 with Yohanna's Is It True.