Skip to main content

How many countries will join for Eurovision 2015?

23 October 2014 at 19:48 CEST
The 61st edition of the Eurovision Song Contest will take place in Stockholm, Sweden Andres Putting (EBU)

While last year 37 artists competed for the trophy, broadcasters from 38 countries have confirmed that they will take part in Vienna next year. But that may not be a final number after all, as one broadcaster is yet to take a final decision about their participation.

Is Greece in or out?

The biggest question among the fans has been and remains whether Greece will join or not. Last year, Greek broadcaster NERIT got a special permission from the contest's governing body, the Reference Group, to be a part of the contest, despite not yet being an Active Member of the EBU.

This year, no such exception will be made, and NERIT will have to complete the process of becoming an EBU-member before the Semi-Final Allocation Draw in January.

The story continues

This content is unfortunately no longer available

38 confirmed, one about to decide and Greece hopefully completing their membership application in timeā€¦ One thing is for sure; we have exciting months ahead!

In the meantime, enjoy the great songs from the Grand Final in 2014!