Skip to main content

UNITED KINGDOM SHORTLISTED HOST CITIES 2023: Birmingham / Glasgow / Leeds / Liverpool / Manchester / Newcastle / Sheffield

Gromee and Lukas Meijer set to light up Eurovision for Poland

03 March 2018 at 23:15 CET
The winners of Krajowe Eliminacje in Poland TVP
Gromee featuring Lukas Meijer have won the Polish national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest, 'Krajowe Eliminacje 2018', with the song 'Light Me Up'. The winner was chosen through a combination of both public and jury votes.

The Polish national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest was organised by broadcaster TVP and was held in Warsaw and was hosted by Artur Orzech. A record number of submissions (260) were received for the 2018 competition. Out of the hopefuls, the jury selected ten acts that appeared in the final.  

The finalists

  • Saszan – Nie chcę ciebie mniej 
  • Monika Urlik – Momentum 
  • Isabel Otrebus – Delirium 
  • Ifi Ude – Love Is Stronger 
  • Future Folk – Krakowiacy i górale 
  • Gromee feat. Lukas Meijer – Light Me Up 
  • Marta Gałuszewska – Why Don’t We Go 
  • Pablosson – Sunflower 
  • Maja Hyży – Skin Happy 
  • Happy Prince – Don’t Let Go  

About the show 

The winner of Krajowe Eliminacje 2018, the Polish national selection for Eurovision was chosen through a combination of both public and jury votes. The jury included performers as well as music industry experts: 

  • Kasia Moś: Polish representative at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest
  • Maryla Rodowicz: singer, 
  • Tabb: music producer and sound engineer 
  • Stefano Terrazzino: dancer, singer and choreographer 
  • Jan Borysewicz: guitarist and leader of Lady Pank  

During the final Måns Zelmerlöw, winner of the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest 2015 performed his song Heroes. In addition to being part of the jury, Polish representative at Eurovision 2017, Kasia Moś, also performed. Blue Cafe, the band that represented Poland at Eurovision 2004 with Love Song also performed during the show.

After a close race, in which Happy Prince won the jury vote, Light Me Up performed by Gromee feat. Lukas Meijer emerged as the winner following the public vote.

The top three:

  • 1) Gromee feat. Lukas Meijer – Light Me Up
  • 2) Happy Prince – Don’t Let Go  
  • 3) Monika Urlik – Momentum 

Poland in the Eurovision Song Contest 

Poland first entered the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994, finishing second with Edyta Gorniak's powerful ballad To nie ja! Since then Poland has never made the top five but has qualified for the Grand Final every year since 2014. Last year Poland was represented by Kasia Moś who performed Flashlight, and placed 22nd in the Grand Final in Kyiv, Ukraine.

In Lisbon, Poland will participate in the second half of the Second Semi-Final on Thursday 10th May.