Skip to main content

Greece: the 10 participants revealed

18 December 2009 at 19:04 CET

One of the most successful nations in the recent history of the Eurovision Song Contest, Greece, goes back to the format of different acts and different songs after some years of internal artists selections. Greek broadcaster, ERT, have officially announced the 10 candidates who will compete in their 2010 national selection:


  • Giorgos Alkaios & Friends
  • Yorgos Karadimos
  • Manos Pyrovolakis & MP3
  • Second Skin
  • Christos Hatzinasios
  • Despina Ricci
  • Katerine Avgoustakis
  • Group Melisses
  • Eleftheria Eleftheriou
  • Group Emigre


The line-up includes Belgian Katerine Avgoustakis who took part in the Flemish selections to represent Belgium in the Eurovision Song Contest 2006; she scored a hit in some European countries earlier this year with her cover of Ayo Technology. Giorgos Alkaios is a successful singer/songwriter who scored his biggest hits in the 1990s. In the list there are also some newcomers like the band Melisses or X-Factor contestant Eleftheria Eleftheriou from Cyprus who also tried to sing for her country in 2006.

The date of the national selection is not known yet, but ERT planns to hold it in late February or early March. The songs will be presented to the TV audience in a televised show on ERT at the beginning of February.

In 2009, This Is Our Night by Sakis Rouvas represented Greece in Europe's favourite TV-show.