Germany: Second preselection heat finished

The German national selection for the 2010 Eurovision Song Contest is a joint effort of the public broadcaster and EBU member Das Erste/NDR, and the private channel ProSieben. A total of eight shows take place, with several new talents of the German music scene getting a chance to convince the public, who solely decides the results by televoting. Nevertheless, the performances are evaluated by a professional jury, headed by Stefan Raab, who had already taken part in the 2000 Eurovision Song Contest, reaching the fifth place with Wadde Hadde Dudde Da. Apart from that, he wrote the German entries for the 1998 and 2004 Eurovision Song Contest. He is the host of the popular TV show TV Total. The hosts of Unser Star Für Oslo are Matthias Opdenhövel and Sabine Heinrich.

In tonight's second heat, ten candidates performed their own versions of well-known hits. The jury comprised Sarah Connor, Peter Maffay and Stefan Raab tonight. This is the list of tonight's candidates (qualifiers in bold):

  • Jennifer Braun
  • Benjamin Hartmann
  • Maria-Lisa Straßburg
  • Behnam Seifi
  • Sharyhan Osman
  • Alex Senzig
  • Jana Wall
  • Franziska Weber
  • Leon Taylor
  • Christian Durstewitz

They will join the singers that already qualified in the first heat last week (Katrin Walter, Lena Meyer-Landrut, Kerstin Freking, Meri Voskanian and Cyril Krueger) in the next heat, to be broadcast on ProSieben on the 16th of February, with eight of them qualifying for the next round. The final of Unser Star Für Oslo will be broadcast on the 12th of March on Das Erste, when the public will first choose the song to represent Germany in the 2010 Eurovision Song Contest and then the winning artist out of the two remaining candidates.

Comments 💬

Related stories
Performances finalists 'Unser Lied für Israel 2019'

Germany moves to internal selection process for Eurovision 2020

1 year ago
S!sters win 'Unser Lied für Israel' and go to Tel Aviv for Germany

The weekend in review: Four new participants for Eurovision 2019

2 years ago
S!sters win 'Unser Lied für Israel' and go to Tel Aviv for Germany

Germany's song and artist for Israel: S!sters with Sister

2 years ago