Skip to main content

Germany adds Sisters as 7th finalist, announces selection song titles

08 January 2019 at 17:54 CET
Sisters (Carlotta Truman and Laura Kästel) ARD/NDR
A total of seven acts will be competing for the German ticket to Tel Aviv on the 22nd of February: Aly Ryan, BB Thomaz, Linus Bruhn, Gregor Hägele, lilly among clouds, Makeda and Sisters (Carlotta Truman & Laurita).

Four of the seven songs were written in the five-day NDR songwriting camp, which took place late last year, in which 24 national and international songwriters, composers and producers developed songs for the German national final together with six of the announced participants.

Seven finalists and their songs

  • Aly Ryan - Wear your love
  • BB Thomaz - Demons
  • Linus Bruhn - Our City
  • Gregor Hägele - Let me go
  • lilly among clouds - Surprise
  • Makeda - The day I loved you most
  • Sisters - Sister

The song for the Sisters was composed by an international team especially for the German national selection for the 2019 Eurovision Song Contest.

The previously announced six finalists

Thomas Schreiber, ARD coordinator of entertainment: "Seven strong, very individual acts with their own, very special Eurovision songs: But only one song can bring the points in Tel Aviv for Germany - Unser Lied für Israel! After Michael Schultes great You let me walk alone and his 4th place in Lisbon, it is our goal to return to the top ten at Eurovision 2019."

Be sure to tune in to the live show on the 22nd of February, starting 20:15 CET.

Which of Germany's national finalist are you most excited about? Let us know in the comments!