Skip to main content

Germany: National final acts announced!

17 December 2012 at 09:00 CET

After three successful Eurovision years for Germany, secured by two "new talents", Lena and Roman, the national selection is moving in another direction this year: Twelve well-known and experienced acts will fight for the ticket to Malmö.

Today, all but one of the German national final acts have been announced by NDR, the public broadcaster in charge of the Eurovision Song Contest in Germany:

  • Ben Ivory - The Righteous Ones
  • Betty Dittrich - Lalala
  • Blitzkids mvt. - Heart On The Line
  • Cascada - Glorious
  • Finn Martin - Change
  • LaBrassBanda - Nackert
  • Mobilée - Little Sister
  • Nica & Joe - Elevated
  • Die Priester feat. Mojca Erdmann - Ave Maris Stella
  • Saint Lu - Craving
  • Söhne Mannheims - One Love

The line-up includes several famous names. One of them, Söhne Mannheims is a group of German soul musicians, one of them being Xavier Naidoo, who was also juror in Unser Star für Baku, the German national final 2012.  Cascada has sold more than 30 million records - Everytime You Touch was one of the top hits of the dance act.

But not only big stars get their chance, NDR also did their best to present a huge variety of styles in the show. LaBrassBanda, for example, is famous for their mix of traditional Bavarian brass music with rock and funk - the title of their national final entry means "naked" in Bavarian dialect.

Another mix  of styles is represented by Nica & Joe, with Nica being a pop singer, and Joe a classical vocalist. Mobilée combines instrumental music in an innovative way, using accordion, banjo, mandolin, ukulele, and chimes.

Die Priester feat. Mojca Erdmann promise an even more eclectic mix, presenting a pop version of a medieval Catholic church chant. Mojca Erdmann is a star sopranist - she already performed at the Salzburg Festival as well as at the Met in New York.

Of course, there will be plenty of main-stream pop and rock too, both modern and nostalgic. The remaining 12th act will be known just before Christmas. The songs will be presented by NDR and the collaborating radio channels closer to the date of the final.

Apart from the show format, the voting was also adjusted in the German final: This time,  the votes of the TV viewers and radio listeners will be combined with the verdict of an expert jury.

Of course, the twelve competing acts won't be the only reason to tune into the German final: Two of the most recent Eurovision winners, Lena and Loreen, will also perform during the show.

The German national final Unser Song für Malmö will be broadcast live from the TUI Arena in Hanover on Thursday, 14 February, starting at 20:15 CET.