Skip to main content

Georgia gears up to host its first Eurovision event!

17 November 2017 at 17:00 CET
Tbilisi, capital of Georgia GPB
Georgia will host the 2017 Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Tbilisi on 26th November. It will mark the first time that the country has staged a Eurovision entry. Georgia has won the Junior Eurovision Song Contest a record three times.

Georgia is gearing up to host 16 countries participating in the 15th Junior Eurovision Song Contest in Tbilisi. Whilst the country has never won the Eurovision Song Contest, it scored a record third victory in Junior Eurovision last year. Now Georgia is ready to Shine Bright!

Georgia's Junior Journey  

The Junior Eurovision Song Contest started in 2003 with Georgia making its debut in 2007, the same year that the country first participated in the Eurovision Song Contest. In 2008 the country scored its first victory with the unusual Bzz.. performed by Bzikebi. Georgia repeated this success in 2011 with the song Candy Music performed by Candy. The 2016 Junior Eurovision Song Contest was won by Mariam Mamadashvilli with Mzeo, providing Georgia with the record of most victories in Junior Eurovision.

Shine Bright in 2017

The slogan for the 2017 Junior Eurovision Song Contest is Shine Bright. The contest will see 16 countries battle it out for the trophy. For the first time ever, people around the world will be able to vote for the winner

The 2017 Junior Eurovision Song Contest will be held in Tbilisi's Olympic Palace on Sunday 26th November at 16:00 CET. The contest will be hosted by Helen Kalandadze and Lizi Japaridze, also known as Lizi Pop. It is the first time that Junior Eurovision will feature a host under the age of 16. Helen previously participated in the Eurovision Song Contest whilst Lizi represented Georgia in Junior Eurovision in 2014. You can watch the show live on YouTube.

Participants in 2017

Hoping to continue in their success after a win at this year’s Eurovision Song Contest, Portugal return to the Junior Eurovision stage after a 10-year absence, having last competed in 2007. 

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Australia (ABC)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Cyprus (CyBC)
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Ireland (TG4)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Ukraine (UA:PBC)

Rehearsals for the 2017 Junior Eurovision Song Contest begin on Tuesday 21st November. Visit the official website of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest for the latest news, exclusive content and backstage videos from the event week in Tbilisi!