Skip to main content

Fusedmarc picked to represent Lithuania with 'Rain of Revolution'

12 March 2017 at 00:29 CET
After a lengthy national selection process lasting more than ten weeks, Lithuania has now chosen its act for the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest: Fusedmarc will represent the Baltic nation with the song Rain of Revolution.

Until now, Lithuania has taken a part in the Eurovision Song Contest 17 times, since they first entered the competition in 1994. Lithuania's best placing was 6th in 2006 with the song We Are The Winners, performed by the group LT United.

Seven acts competed in tonight's final, one of them being chosen through an online wildcard competition on LRT's website:

  • Fusedmarc – Rain of Revolution
  • Aistė Pilvelytė – I'm Like a Wolf
  • Gabrielius Vagelis – Feel Myself Free
  • Kotryna Juodzevičiūtė – Love Shadow
  • Paula – Let U Go
  • Greta Zazza – Like I Love You
  • Gytis Ivanauskas - Get Frighten

About Fusedmarc

Fusedmarc is a duo consisting of Cilia and Vakx. In 2005, Fusedmarc were called the breakthrough of the Lithuanian alternative scene. Year 2007 Fusedmarc was acclaimed the best experimental music band in Lithuania and in 2008 they got the award in the Best Lithuanian Electronic Band category. Today the band has developed its own style.

Fusedmarc: "In our deep belief, Rain of Revolution is so alive and true, that we wish to share and spread this strong energy with people! Our song reflects on what is going on in many people's lives and souls."

The show

As in previous weeks, Ieva Stasiulevičiūte and Gabriele Martirosianai hosted the show. Several guest performers appeared during the final of Eurovizijos dainų konkurso nacionalinė atranka.

Today was also the Lithuanian Independence Day. To mark this special day, the show opened with Lithuania's national anthem. Subsequently, last year's winner Donny Montello got to perform his new single Screw Me Up.

Jamala, last year's Eurovision Song Contest winner, also made an appearance in a recorded greeting, and so did the president of Lithuania. On the stage we got to see two powerful interval acts. First Australian singer Chloe Maggs made an impressive performance and later on this year’s Moldovan entry Hey Mama with SunStroke Project rocked the stage.

Donny Montell and Chloe Maggs was also a part of the jury. Other international jury members was the British music producer Dennis Ingoldsby, Peter Freudenthaller from the German band Fool's Garden and Latvian pop singer and composer Lauris Reiniks.  

Gallery: At the Lithuanian national final for Eurovision 2017

The result

Fusedmarc won through a voting system which featured a combination of a Lithuanian expert jury, an international jury and televoting.

Gallery: Backstage at the Lithuanian national final for Eurovision 2017