Skip to main content

Five questions about voting in the first Semi-Final

08 May 2018 at 17:48 CEST
The 1957 presenter and her "assistant" during the voting HR/ARD
After watching the performances tonight, it will be time to let us know who your favourite entries are. Eurovision voting: The who, when, how, why and... which country to vote for!

Who can vote?

Is your country taking part in tonight's first Semi-Final or are you living in Spain, the United Kingdom or Portugal? You’re in luck, as you will be able to vote for your favourites! Once all songs have been performed, the voting window will be open for ±15 minutes.

When to vote?

Once all nineteen countries have performed their songs, the hosts will officially open the voting lines. The voting window will then be open for ±15 minutes.

How to vote?

You can vote via the official Eurovision app, and by telephone and SMS with the numbers shown on your screen. Rates and legal terms will be shown on screen as well. You can vote as many as twenty times for your favourite song(s), but you cannot vote for the country from which you are voting.

If you vote via the app, you will get an exclusive thank-you video message from the contestant you voted for.

Why vote?

Your vote makes the difference! The public televote determines 50% of the result; the other 50% has already been determined by a professional jury from all nineteen participating countries, Portugal, Spain and the United Kingdom. From the nineteen countries participating, only ten will qualify for Saturday's Grand Final, which means nine acts will see their Eurovision dream come to an end tonight. You can help determine who that will be!

Which country to vote for?

Unfortunately we cannot help you with that, apart from giving you the options. Tonight you can vote for Azerbaijan, Iceland, Albania, Belgium, Czech Republic, Lithuania, Israel, Belarus, Estonia, Bulgaria, F.Y.R. Macedonia, Croatia, Austria, Greece, Finland, Armenia, Switzerland, Ireland and Cyprus.

Curious about the insights of the voting and how we keep things fair?

READ MORE: Voting in the Eurovision Song Contest