First Semi-Final: The Qualifiers!

Millions of viewers tuned in tonight to watch the First Semi-Final of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest. The show was broadcast live from the Olimpiyskiy Arena in Moscow, and it was presented by Natalia Vodyanova and Andrey Malakhov. Nine qualifying countries were picked by televoting, and a tenth finalist was selected by the national juries all over Europe. All the countries represented in the First Semi-Final were voting, as well as Germany and the United Kingdom. This is the list of countries that qualified (the full results will be revealed after the Final of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest):

  • Turkey
  • Sweden
  • Israel
  • Portugal
  • Malta
  • Finland
  • Bosnia and Herzegovina
  • Romania
  • Armenia
  • Iceland

That now means that 15 out of 25 participants of the Final of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest are known. The remaining 10 finalists will be known after the Second Semi-Final, to take place on May 14th at 21:00 CET!

This content is unfortunately no longer available

This content is unfortunately no longer available

Here are some videos showing backstage and green room impressions of the artists in the First Semi-Final.





Comments 💬

Related stories
Belarus 2019 second rehearsal

Exclusive video and photo recaps from Thursday's second rehearsals

1 year ago
Sweden second rehearsal 2019

Exclusive footage as second rehearsals of Eurovision 2019 continue

1 year ago
Stage Technical stuff 2019

First bookmaker favourites hit the Eurovision 2019 stage

1 year ago