Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


WATCH TONIGHT: The first Semi-Final of Eurovision 2018!

Photo by: Thomas Hanses
Posted 8 May 2018 at 0:00

All you need to know ahead of the first Semi-Final of the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest. Tune in live at 21:00 CEST.

Tonight's show will come to you live from Lisbon's Altice Arena and will be presented by Filomena Cautela, Sílvia Alberto, Daniela Ruah and Catarina Furtado.

Who are participating

Tonight, 19 countries will take to the stage in Lisbon in the first Semi-Final of the 63rd Eurovision Song Contest: Azerbaijan, Iceland, Albania, Belgium, Czech Republic, Lithuania, Israel, Belarus, Estonia, Bulgaria, F.Y.R. Macedonia, Croatia, Austria, Greece, Finland, Armenia, Switzerland, Ireland and Cyprus. Only ten will qualify for Saturday's Grand Final, which means nine acts will see their Eurovision dream come to an end tonight.

Where to watch

If you live in one of the 43 participating countries you can watch on television via your national public broadcaster. You can also watch the show (without commentary and voting details) via the official Eurovision YouTube channel.*
The following countries shared their live stream links with us:
During the show, use #Eurovision and #AllAboard on your favourite social media channel. You can follow the official Eurovision channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat for loads of exclusive material from behind the scenes.
* Due to rights limitations, the YouTube live stream is not available in the United States, Canada, Bolivia, Costa Rica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Uruguay and Venezuela.

How you can vote

Is your country taking part in tonight's first Semi-Final or are you living in Spain, the United Kingdom or Portugal? Excellent! You will be able to vote for your favourites. Once all songs have been performed, the voting window will be open for ±15 minutes. Voting is possible via the official Eurovision app, by telephone and SMS through the numbers shown on your screen. Rates and legal terms will be shown on screen as well.
Through the official app, you will also receive a special thank-you message from the artists you voted for!
You can vote up to twenty times, but you cannot vote for the country you are voting from. Televotes make up 50% of the result; the other 50% of tonight's result has already been determined by a professional jury last night.
Watching the first Semi-Final at the Eurovision Village in Lisbon? Download the app and use the OSRAM light voting feature. Based on your vote several landmark buildings in Lisbon will be lit in different colours.
Who will get your vote tonight? Will it be Aisel, Ari Ólafsson, Eugent Bushpepa, Sennek, Mikolas Josef, Ieva Zasimauskaitė, Netta, ALEKSEEV, Elina Nechayeva, EQUINOX, Eye Cue, Franka, Cesár Sampson, Yianna Terzi, Saara Aalto, Sevak Khanagyan, ZiBBZ, Ryan O’Shaugnessy or Eleni Foureira? Let us know in the comments!

? Still didn't make up your mind about your favourites of this year's Eurovision Song Contest? Listen to the songs! Let us know who your favourites are in the comments below.

Evert Groot
Evert Groot
2018semi-final 1
Share this story


Photo by: Thomas Hanses
Evert Groot
Evert Groot