Skip to main content

First acts through in Estonia

07 February 2015 at 23:09 CET

Estonia has one of the most popular national selections in Europe, with a focus on talent and the Estonian language. 

In recent years, Estonia's results at the Eurovision Song Contest have been mixed but this year broadcaster ERR are very keen to secure the country a good spot in Vienna in just a few months time. 

The qualifiers 

Tonight the following five acts qualified to the final, which will be held on the 21st of February:

The Blurry Lane - Exceptional

Robin Juhkental & The Big Bangers - Troubles

Maia Vahtramäe - Üle Vesihalli Taeva

Elisa Kolk - Superlove

Elephants From Neptune - Unriddle Me

The result was based on an equal vote between a jury and the televote. The jury favourites were - in no particular order - Liis Lemsalu & Egert Milder, Robin Juhkental & The Big Bangers, Elisa Kolk, Elephants From Neptune and Karl-Erik Taukar.

The participants

This content is unfortunately no longer available

Tonight the following ten acts competed for the five places in the Final:

  1. Karl-Erik Taukar - Päev Korraga
  2. Miina - Kohvitassi Lugu
  3. The Blurry Lane - Exceptional
  4. Liis Lemsalu & Egert Milder - Hold On
  5. Airi Vipulkumar Kansar - Saatuse Laul
  6. Maia Vahtramäe - Üle Vesihalli Taeva
  7. Robin Juhkental & The Big Bangers - Troubles
  8. Elephants From Neptune - Unriddle Me
  9. Elisa Kolk - Superlove
  10. Bluestocking - Kordumatu

Before the show, Karl-Erik Taukar's Päev Korraga as well as Elisa Kolk with Superlove, Liis Lemsalu and Egert Milder’s Hold On, Elephants From Neptune’s song Unriddle Me were the main favourites to qualify accordint to the betting offices.

Robin Juhkentali and Big Bangers entry Trouble was among the favourites too while he has already won Eesti Laul in 2010 when he represented Estonia at the Eurovision Song Contest with Malcolm Lincoln's Siren.

Estonia will take part in the first Semi-Final of the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest, which takes place at the Wiener Stadthalle in Vienna on the 19th of May. The Grand Final takes place on the 23rd of May.