Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


First 12 Finnish finalists revealed

Posted 30 September 2009 at 11:50

The selected artists by the broadcasters were revealed today, as previously promised. Among them is the 'ruling King of Tango' who's already tipped by many to be the Finnish representative in Oslo next May. He did hesitate taking the invitation which he got by winning the hugely popular tango contest in Finland but apparently in the end decided to participate.
The twelve artists invited by YLE are as follows:
  • Amadeus
  • Boys Of The Band (BOB)
  • Eläkeläiset
  • Pentti Hietanen
  • Osmo Ikonen
  • Heli Kajo
  • Veeti Kallio
  • Antti Kleemola
  • Kuunkuiskaajat
  • Nina Lassander
  • Maria Lund
  • Monday
The authors and songs of the artists will be revealed on the 30th of November. You can meet all the artists in our introduction of the twelve Finnish finalists. Today YLE also published the list of the 30 songs for a public SMS-voting, to start tomorrow (1st of October) and end on the 15th of October. This is the first time in years an open submission is used in Finland. You can find out who they are in our article about the Finnish open competition qualifiers.
The national selection for the 2010 Eurovision Song Contest in Finland will be held in January, with three heats on consecutive Fridays. From every show three winners will qualify for the final and one will be selected by a jury, possibly an international one. The Finnish representative for Europe's favourite TV-show in 2010 will be chosen on the 30th of January.
Amadeusnews2010national selectionsFinland
Share this story