Finnish national selection songs announced

In less than a month, the Finnish selection for the 2008 Eurovision Song Contest will start. Having already announced the 12 participants, Finnish broadcaster YLE has now presented the song titles and composers.

Mix of Finnish and English 

  1. Kari Tapio - Valaise Yö (Pertti Haverinen/Ilkka Vainio)
  2. Hanna Marsh - Broken Flower (Hanna Marsh) 
  3. Movetron - Cupido (Jukka Tanttari/Timo Löyvä)
  4. Crumbland - Pleasure (Crumbland) 
  5. Mikael Konttinen - Milloin (Kerkko Koskinen/Kyösti Salokorpi)
  6. Jippu - Kanna Minut (Markus Koskinen/Jippu)
  7. Ninja - Battlefield Of Love (Susan Nova)
  8. Kristian Meurman - Jos En Sua Saa (Kristian Meurman)
  9. Jenna - Sinua Varten (Risto Asikainen/Ilkka Vainio)
  10. Vuokko Hovatta - Virginia (Kesko Koskinen/Anna Viitala) 
  11. Cristal Snow - Can't save me (Cristal Snow/Heikki Liimatainen/Jimi Constantine)
  12. Teräsbetoni - Missä Miehet Ratsastaa (J. Ahola)

Selection to start on 8th February

The 2008 Finnish national final will feature three semi-finals with four songs each. Two will qualify directly to the final on 1st March, but the others don't have to give up their hopes either as they will have another chance in a special second chance round, which will take place directly before the final. 

Photo courtesy of YLE 

Comments 💬

Related stories
At the start of the first Semi-Final of the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest.

Finnish broadcaster YLE invites fans to join Eurovision documentary

1 year ago
Norma John will represent Finland in Kyiv next May

Finland: Norma John wins UMK 2017!

4 years ago
Krista Siegfrids, the host of UMK 2017

Meet Finland's candidates for 2017

4 years ago