Skip to main content

Finland: two more acts evicted in UMK

10 February 2012 at 21:45 CET

In the first show of Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu (UMK), the Finnish national selection for the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest, twelve of the artists were selected among forty hopefuls. In the second show, six out of those twelve acts were followed during their live casting and two of them were evicted. Tonight it was time for the remaining six to try their lucks (qualifiers in bold):

  • Iconcrash - We Are The Night
  • Aura Pineda - Kunpa Vois
  • Freeman & Uusi Fantasia - Noitanainen
  • Leola - Rytmit Rikkoutuu
  • Ville Eetvartti - Lasikaupunki
  • Kaisa Vala - Habits Of Human Beings

This content is unfortunately no longer available

So that means that Aura Pineda and Leola also left the competition tonight. At the end of the show it was also announced which of the three wildcards received a ticket to join the competition from next week on (selected entry in bold):

  • Jessica Wolf - Better
  • Martina - Checkmate
  • The Spyro - Teleport My Heart (pictured below)

That takes the total number of acts taking part in next week's show of UMK to nine (in alphabetical order):

  • Aili – Mun Taivas
  • Freeman & Uusi Fantasia – Noitanainen
  • Iconcrash – We Are The Night
  • Kaisa Vala – Habits Of Human Beings
  • Mica Ikonen – Antaa Mennä
  • Pernilla Karlsson – När Jag Blundar
  • Stig – Laululeija
  • The Spyro – Teleport My Heart
  • Ville Eetvartti – Lasikaupunki

The show next week will be a so called "club gig" where all nine artists will have the chance to perform in front of an audience. After that two more will leave the contest.

Only six acts will reach the final of UMK where Finland's entry for the Eurovision Song Contest will be chosen. It will take place on the 25th of February at the Helsinki Ice Hall with guest stars The Rasmus, Anna Abreu and last year's Finnish entrant Paradise Oskar.