Skip to main content

Finland: Meet the sensational 7 acts competing in 'UMK' 🇫🇮

12 January 2022 at 12:00 CET
Broadcaster Yle has announced the 7 artists competing in 'Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu' (UMK), the selection show that will decide Finland’s participant at the Eurovision Song Contest in Turin later this year.
  • Cyan Kicks
  • BESS
  • The Rasmus
  • Younghearted
  • Olivera
  • Tommi Läntinen
  • Isaac Sene

From Thursday 13 January, the songs (listed below) will be presented one-per-weekday on the Finnish streaming service Yle Areena, as well as on Youtube, Spotify, and other music streaming services at midnight (Eastern European Time) each day.

The UMK grand final takes place on Saturday 26 February (20:00 CET) and will be broadcast on Yle TV1, Yle Areena and Yle radio channels.

Following the show there’s a massive all-night UMK party planned at Turku Logomo from 19:00 – 04:00 (!) local time.

Let’s meet the participants…

Cyan Kicks Nelli Kenttä / Yle

Cyan Kicks – Hurricane

Revealed: Thursday 13 January

It wouldn’t be Finland without some serious rock, and this is the band to kick-off UMK with a BANG.

Cyan Kicks are a well-toured, alt-rock group from Helsinki with a clutch of very loud albums to their name.

BESS Nelli Kenttä / Yle

BESS – Ram Pam Pam

Revealed: Friday 14 January

BESS is a Helsinki-based pop artist who combines electro-pop and house with catchy lyrics and addictive rhythms.

Her tracks have been streamed over 32 millions times on Spotify.

The Rasmus The Rasmus

The Rasmus – Jezebel

Revealed: Monday 17 January

They’ve been watching…. They’ve been waiting… in the shadows… for UMK 2022!

One of Finland’s biggest exports, The Rasmus are perhaps best known for their 2003 mega-hit: In The Shadows.

Lauri Ylönen and his team are back to rock the roof off the Yle studios.

📺 Watch: The Rasmus – In The Shadows

Younghearted Nelli Kenttä / Yle

Younghearted – Sun Numero

Revealed: Tuesday 18 January

Singer Reeta Huotarinen and guitarists Atte Ranta and Emil Korkiakoski are known for their sensitive, acoustic songs and absolutely charming live gigs.

The trio have been performing together since 2015.

Olivera Nelli Kenttä / Yle

Olivera – Thank God I’m An Atheist

Revealed: Wednesday 19 January

Olivera says: ‘I don’t know where my songs come from. I just listen to the endless radio show inside my head and record the best parts of it.’

Now she’s hoping UMK viewers will tune into her frequency.

Tommi Läntinen Nelli Kenttä / Yle

Tommi Läntinen – Elämä Kantaa Mua

Revealed: Thursday 20 January

The charismatic Tommi Läntinen has been writing, performing and recording his music for more than forty years.

A household name in Finland, Tommi is the 47th biggest selling solo male in his home country… just one place behind Sting and two ahead of Ricky Martin.

Isaac Sene Nelli Kenttä / Yle

Isaac Sene – Kuuma Jäbä

Revealed: Friday 21 January

Isaac Sene mixes modern beats with social commentary to express his feelings through the music he produces.

Last year, the singer/songwriter released the song N-sana (‘N-Word’) exploring his experiences as a person of colour from Northern Savonia, Finland.

All 7 tracks will be available first on the UMK YouTube channel.

So there we have it! Let us know what you think of the UMK hopefuls over on the official Eurovision Song Contest Twitter, Instagram, TikTok and Facebook channels.