Exclusive: Norway also won jury vote!

If only the professional juries had voted in the Grand Final of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest, this would have been the outcome:

  1. Norway (312 points)
  2. Iceland (260 points)
  3. United Kingdom (223 points)
  4. France (164 points)
  5. Estonia (124 points)
  6. Denmark (120 points)
  7. Turkey (114 points)
  8. Azerbaijan (112 points)
  9. Israel (107 points)
  10. Greece (93 points)
  11. Moldova (93 points)
  12. Bosnia & Herzegovina (90 points)
  13. Malta (87 points)
  14. Germany (73 points)
  15. Armenia (71 points)
  16. Ukraine (68 points)
  17. Russia (67 points)
  18. Portugal (64 points)
  19. Croatia (58 points)
  20. Lithuania (31 points)
  21. Romania (31 points)
  22. Sweden (27 points)
  23. Albania (26 points)
  24. Finland (12 points)
  25. Spain (9 points)

The combined results lead to Norway's Alexander Rybak winning the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest, followed by Iceland and Azerbaijan. For the full results of the Grand Final of the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest, click here.

Svante Stockselius, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest on behalf of the EBU, said to Eurovision.tv: "We believe it was the right time to introduce this new voting system, and it is fantastic to see that both televoters as well as professional juries massively backed the same contestant. Some finished higher because of support from the juries, others finished higher because of support from the televoters across Europe. It also made the presentation of the points less predictable, despite the overwhelming support for Alexander Rybak's entry."

All jury members were professionally involved with the music industry and signed declarations that stated they would vote independently.

Comments 💬

Related stories

Detailed show and jury results published

3 years ago
Norway rehearsal

The Unforgettables, part 4: Alexander Rybak

2 years ago

Updated jury list for Grand Final published

3 years ago