Exclusive: 39 countries to be represented in Oslo


The following 39 countries will be represented at the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest in Oslo, Norway:


  • Albania (RTVSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Belgium (VRT)
  • Bosnia & Herzegovina (BHRT)
  • Bulgaria (BNT)
  • Croatia (HRT)
  • Cyprus (CyBC)
  • Denmark (DR)
  • Estonia (ERR)
  • Finland (YLE)
  • France (FT3)
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Georgia (GEGT)
  • Germany (NDR/ARD)
  • Greece (ERT)
  • Iceland (RÚV)
  • Ireland (RTÉ)
  • Israel (IBA)
  • Latvia (LTV)
  • Lithuania (LRT)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • The Netherlands (TROS)
  • Norway (NRK)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Romania (TVR)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Slovakia (STV)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • Spain (TVE)
  • Sweden (SVT)
  • Switzerland (SRG / SSR)
  • Turkey (TRT)
  • Ukraine (NTU)
  • United Kingdom (BBC)

Qualification system

The so-called 'Big Four' (France, Germany, Spain and the United Kingdom) are automatically qualified for the Final on the 29th of May, as their respective broadcasters are crucial contributors to the Eurovision Song Contest. As host country, Norway (NRK) is also secure of a spot in the Final, to take place on Saturday 29 May.

The other 34 countries will appear in one of the two Semi-Finals, scheduled to take place on Tuesday 25 and Thursday 27 May (17 countries in each Semi-Final). Per Semi-Final, 10 countries will qualify for the Final, bringing the total amount of Finalists to 25. The Semi-Final allocation draw, to determine which country will take place in which Semi-Final, is scheduled to take place in early February. The draw for the running order will take place on 22 March.

A mix of 50% professional jury vote and 50% televoting will determine the outcomes of the two Semi-Finals and the Final.

"An extraordinary event"

Svante Stockselius, Executive Supervisor of the Eurovision Song Contest on behalf of the EBU, said to Eurovision.tv: "Despite the tough economic situation, 39 broadcasters signed up for the 2010 Eurovision Song Contest, proving that it is still Europe's favourite TV-show. We are also happy to have Georgia back in the competition." About the upcoming contest he said: "I am confident we can expect an extraordinary event in Oslo, full of surprises. It's going to be exciting for sure, and we are looking forward to bring Europe and the world some great new songs!"

The Eurovision Song Contest team of the EBU wishes you a happy, prosperous and healthy new year, full of joy and great music!

Comments 💬

Related stories
The International Exhibition Centre will host the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest

100 days to go until Eurovision 2017! What happens next?

4 years ago
Anxhela Peristeri

Latest news: Albania’s Anxhela releases ‘Karma’ video 🇦🇱

44 minutes ago

2021 artists to record song “live-on-tape” to ensure Contest will happen

3 months ago