Skip to main content

Eurovision Young Musicians heading to Zagreb in 2020

08 July 2019 at 13:00 CEST
Finalists Eurovision Young Musicians 2018 Ryan Buchanan
The 20th edition of Eurovision Young Musicians will be hosted by public broadcaster HRT on 21 June 2020 in Zagreb. Young musicians from around Europe will perform on an open-air stage in King Tomislav Square in the Croatian capital.

Eurovision Young Musicians is the event for talented young classical musicians, aged between 12 and 21. Next year's competition will be hosted by Croatian EBU Member HRT. The Grand Final on 21 June 2020 is scheduled to coincide with Fête de la Musique or World Music Day which celebrates music of all genres being performed outdoors.

"We are delighted to bring the 20th Eurovision Young Musicians competition to Croatia in 2020. HRT have been closely involved with this format for over 20 years and are very much a part of its heritage," said the EBU’s Executive Supervisor of Eurovision Live Events, Jon Ola Sand. "We know that HRT will produce a fantastic event for the best young classical musicians to shine. This competition has launched some of the biggest stars of the classical world and we’re looking forward to giving the big names of the future an international stage next summer."

Kazimir Bačić, Director General of HRT added: "HRT is exceptionally honoured to host Eurovision Young Musicians in 2020 in Zagreb! We will stage the competition for the very first time and, as it is the 20th edition, that makes us even more proud. We are pleased to partner with the Croatian Ministry of Culture and the City of Zagreb for the event. As a country that is known around the world for its hard-working musical talents as well as its great cultural heritage - Croatia, Zagreb and HRT - are ready for this wonderful experience. We’d like to thank the EBU for giving HRT this opportunity."

Last year in Edinburgh, the 16-year-old Russian pianist Ivan Bessonov won the 19th edition of the competition.

Eurovision Young Musicians started in 1982 and is traditionally held every two years. Previous winners of the competition have gone on to enjoy worldwide fame, including Julian Rachlin (violin), Natalie Clein (cello) and Eivind Holtsmark Ringstad (viola).

Eurovision 1990 in Zagreb

Eurovision Song Contest logo 1990 EBU

Zagreb has a history organising Eurovision events - the city hosted the Eurovision Song Contest in 1990. Italian singer Toto Cutugno won that year with the song Insieme: 1992, which was about a united Europe.

For more information and contact details, go to