Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


Eurovision winners: Who tops the leaderboard?

Photo by: Thomas Hanses
Posted 17 May 2018 at 15:13

Now that the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest is behind us, it is time to have a look at the Eurovision leaderboard. With Netta winning the contest with her song 'Toy', Israel has now won the competition four times, as often as the Netherlands. But there are five countries who have, so far, performed even better. Do you know which ones?

Since 1956 there have been 66 winners of the Eurovision Song Contest. A peculiar thing, as the contest has taken place 63 times now — so how can there be 66 winners? In the infamous Eurovision year of 1969, there were not one, not two, not three... but four winners. Since there was no rule in place that could deal with the 'unlikely' occurrence of a tie, France, the Netherlands, Spain and the United Kingdom all won.
Since Netta's victory last Saturday, the total amount of victories for Israel totals four; they won the competition in 1978 with Abanibi by Izhar Cohen and the Alphabeta, in 1979 Milk and Honey got the most points for their song Hallelujah and in 1998 Diva by Dana International topped the scoreboard.
© Andres Putting
How have other countries historically fared with their number of wins in the Eurovision Song Contest? Israel is now up to par with the amount of times that the Netherlands snatched the trophy; they did so in 1957, 1959, 1969 and 1975. Yet the Netherlands’ last win is already 43 years ago.
Teach-In celebrating their 1975 win for the Netherlands at Schiphol Airport.
Teach-In celebrating their 1975 win for the Netherlands at Schiphol Airport. © Rob Mieremet/Anefo
There is only one country that has secured victory a whopping seven times: Ireland. With their last win taking place in 1996 — 22 years ago! — Sweden is well on its way to knock the Irish off the number one spot. With two of Sweden's victories in recent years (2012 and 2015) you would think their hunger for victory is satisfied, but knowing the Swedish love for Eurovision that may be a risky assumption...
Måns Zelmerlöw is welcomed at Arlanda's airport in Stockholm
Måns Zelmerlöw is welcomed at Arlanda's airport in Stockholm © Jonas Ekströmer (SVT)

Winners Graph 2018
Winners Graph 2018
  • Ireland (7 victories)
  • Sweden (6)
  • France, Luxembourg, United Kingdom (5)
  • Israel, the Netherlands (4)
  • Denmark, Norway (3)
  • Austria, Germany, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine (2)
  • Azerbaijan, Belgium, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Latvia, Monaco, Portugal, Russia, Serbia, Turkey, Yugoslavia (1)
Evert Groot
Evert Groot
trophyIrelandIsraelSwedenThe Netherlandswinners
Share this story


Photo by: Thomas Hanses
Evert Groot
Evert Groot