Dare to Dream

14, 16 & 18 May 2019


Eurovision veteran and Michael Jackson composer in Swedish selections

Posted 22 November 2010 at 19:53

The interest among the media and public in Sweden ran high today, as the artists for the first two out of the four semi-finals in Sweden were revealed. The 16 artists were presented by the broadcaster SVT on a well-attended press conference in Stockholm. Traditionally, the press conferences with the artists to compete in Sweden are among the biggest of the year in Scandinavia.

Former Eurovision winner gears up

A notable act in next years Swedish selections is the former Eurovision Song Contest winner Elisabeth Andreassen. The Swedish-Norwegian singer conquered for Norway in 1985 as part of the duo Bobbysocks. In 1996 she reached second place in the Contest, again for Norway.
Elisabeth Andreassen has also competed in Melodifestivalen, the Swedish national selections, on multiple occasions. She is now aiming to score her first win for Sweden.

2008 runner-up ready for more

Sanna Nielsen finished as the runner-up in Melodifestivalen 2008 after Charlotte Perrelli's Hero. Her ballad Empty Room received the highest score in the vote of the people, but the juries removed her from the spot in Belgrade.
“That was a huge year for me, I got the vote of the people, and I still carry it with me. But I've stopped thinking about having to top that. My new song is a very powerful up-tempo with a very likeable and simple refrain. It's great for Melodifestivalen,” Sanna Nielsen says to Eurovision.tv.

“He came up with magic”

An unpredicted act in next years Melodifestivalen is the Swedish-American pop/hip hop artist Swingfly. He performs Me and My Drum, a song written by Teron Beal. The songwriter co-wrote the song Heaven Can Wait on Michael Jacksons last album and has also worked with names like Jennifer Lopez and Whitney Houston.
“His merits are heavy, I trust him with everything. Teron has written songs for me previously as well that has done pretty good in the States. With this song, he came up with magic,” Swingfly says to Eurovision.tv. Read the full list of artists and songs presented for Melodifestivalen today: Semi-final 1 – Luleå Desperados – Pernilla Andersson Songwriter: Pernilla Andersson In the Club – Danny Songwriters: Figge Boström, Peter Boström, Danny Saucedo Me And My Drum – Swingfly Songwriters: Johan Ramström, Patrik Magnusson, Teron Beal, Swingfly Oh My God – Le Kid Songwriters: Märta Grauers, Anton Malmborg Hård af Segerstad, Felix Persson On My Own – Jonas Matsson Songwriters: Sari Autio Olsson, Peter Autio Social Butterfly – Rasmus Viberg Songwriters: Amir Aly, Henrik Wikström Something In Your Eyes – Jenny Silver Songwriters: Erik Bernholm, Thomas G:son, Henrik Sethsson Try Again – Dilba Songwriters: Niklas Pettersson, Linda Sonnvik Semi-final 2 – Göteborg Elektrisk – Anniela Songwriters: Johan Alkenäs, Tim Larsson, Tobias Lundgren, Johan Fransson Ge Mig En Spanjor – Babsan Songwriters: Larry Forsberg, Sven-Inge Sjöberg, Lennart Wastesson I'm In Love – Sanna Nielsen Songwriters: Irini Michas, Peter Boström, Thomas G:son, Bobby Ljunggren Like Suicide – Christian Walz Songwriters: Fernando Fuentes, Henrik Janson, Tony Nilsson My Heart Is Refusing Me – Loreen Songwriters: Moh Denebi, Björn Djupström, Loreen Oh My God! – The Moniker Songwriters: Daniel Karlsson Seven Days And Seven Nights – Brolle Songwriters: Brolle Vaken I En Dröm – Elisabeth Andreassen Songwriters: Lars ”Dille” Diedricson, Calle Kindbom, Kristian Wejshag
Sanna NielsenElisabeth AndreassenTeron BealSwingflyMelodifestivalenMichael Jacksonnational selections2011newsSwedenBobbysocksCharlotte Perrelli
Share this story