Skip to main content

Eurovision this month: Insights into the year ahead

30 September 2020 at 17:00 CEST
Four scenarios for Eurovision 2021 were announced in Rotterdam EBU / Stijn Smulders
In Eurovision this month, we look back on what happened in the world of the Eurovision Song Contest over the past month. In September, host broadcasters NPO/NOS/AVROTROS shared 4 scenarios to make Eurovision 2021 happen, we learned that 13 countries will participate in Junior Eurovision 2020, and we look ahead with Martin Österdahl, the Executive Supervisor of the Contest.

The Eurovision Song Contest will definitely return in 2021 and on 22 May a new winner will be crowned!

In order to be able to make that promise, the EBU and Dutch Host Broadcasters NPO, NOS and AVROTROS have been working on 4 basic scenarios for hosting the competition:

Eurovision 2021

Not only did we learn that Eurovision 2021 will definitely happen, but it was also confirmed that the theme for the 65th Eurovision Song Contest will remain the same – Open Up.

Chantal Janzen, Jan Smit, Edsilia Rombley and Nikkie de Jager (NikkieTutorials) will return as presenters in 2021. They were set to host Eurovision 2020, and presented Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light in May.

This was all confirmed during a press conference in Rotterdam on 18 September. Read more about the press conference in this story.

Looking ahead with Martin Österdahl

Martin Österdahl, a senior TV executive with 2 decades of experience, was appointed Executive Supervisor for the Eurovision Song Contest and Junior Eurovision Song Contest. Almost 5 months into his new job, it was time to catch up with him about the year to come.

He provided us with insights into the months ahead and which challenges - and opportunities - come with the job, including organising an event like the (Junior) Eurovision Song Contest.

13 countries will Move the World at Junior Eurovision 2020

On 8 September 2020, the EBU announced that 13 countries and their young artists will “Move the World” at the 18th Junior Eurovision Song Contest on Sunday 29 November. The Junior Eurovision Song Contest is the Eurovision Song Contest's 'younger sibling'.

Returning nations Armenia (ARMTV), Belarus (BTRC), France (FTV), Georgia (GPB), Kazakhstan (Khabar Agency), Malta (PBS), the Netherlands (AVROTROS), Russia (RTR), Serbia (RTS), Spain (RTVE), Ukraine (UA:PBC) and hosts Poland (TVP) will all take part. They will also be joined by Germany (ARD/ZDF/Kika) which is competing for the very first time.

Read more about the 13 countries and the run-up to Junior Eurovision 2020 in this story.

The 13 participating countries at Junior Eurovision 2020 EBU

Other stories you may have missed:

  • Brick by brick: Eurovision in LEGO. Read here.
  • #EurovisionAgain travels back to 2005. Read here.
  • Summer goes and autumn leaves. Read here.

What will October have in store for us? Only time will tell.