Skip to main content

Eurovision 2013: Semi-Final running order revealed

28 March 2013 at 15:00 CET

To let all entries shine, this year the running order was decided by the producers of the shows and approved by the EBU Executive Supervisor Jon Ola Sand and the Reference Group.

After reviewing all entries, the producers proposed the following running order that has been approved by the Executive Supervisor and the Reference Group:

First Semi-Final

  1. Austria
  2. Estonia
  3. Slovenia
  4. Croatia
  5. Denmark
  6. Russia
  7. Ukraine
  8. The Netherlands
  9. Montenegro
  10. Lithuania
  11. Belarus
  12. Moldova
  13. Ireland
  14. Cyprus
  15. Belgium
  16. Serbia

This content is unfortunately no longer available

Second Semi-Final

  1. Latvia
  2. San Marino
  3. F.Y.R. Macedonia
  4. Azerbaijan
  5. Finland
  6. Malta
  7. Bulgaria
  8. Iceland
  9. Greece
  10. Israel
  11. Armenia
  12. Hungary
  13. Norway
  14. Albania
  15. Georgia
  16. Switzerland
  17. Romania

This content is unfortunately no longer available

How did we get to the running order?

The producers did not decide the full running order but the participating countries were first drawn to the two Semi-Finals and to the first or second half of the shows. That was done on the 17th of January at the Semi-Final Allocation Draw.

To assure a fair distribution and sufficient availability of tickets over neighbouring countries, the Reference Group also decided that Denmark and Norway would perform in different Semi-Finals at the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest. A draw held at the EBU headquarters determined that Denmark would participate in the first Semi-Final, and Norway would be represented in the second Semi-Final.

In addition to that, the Host Country Sweden was drawn their exact performing position - 16th - at the Head of Delegation meeting a week ago to ensure fairness.

After all songs were handed in last week, the producers decided on the running order. This was then also checked and approved by the EBU Executive Supervisor and the Reference Group.

For the Final, the first and second half of the Grand Final will be drawn at the winner's press conferences of the Semi-Finals. The final running order will the be decided th elatest by 3:00 am on the 17th of May.

This year's Eurovision Song Contest will take place on the 14th, 16th and 18th of May in Malmö, Sweden. 39 countries are set to take part in this year's edition of Europe's favourite TV show.